No stopping Branham at Airborne

Sportsman “4-20’s” winner earns $2,000

*Airborne Press*

Bucko Branham won the final three segments of the Vermont Life Safety Sportsman “4-20’s” event to claim the overall victory and a $2,000 payday Saturday at Airborne Speedway. The all-time Airborne Sportsman win leader recorded a combined finishes total of 5 points.

In the decisive final segment Branham split the difference between two rows of cars in three-wide action and moved quickly into contention from deep in the field. He took the lead from Robin Wood on lap eight and held off overall runner-up Jamy Begor (8 points) after a restart with three laps to go.

In the third segment, Branham and Begor turned some of the best laps of the season as they raced door to door. Branham, on the outside, led laps 13, and 16-20. Begor led by inches at the line on laps 10-12, 14-15. Another key to Branham’s win was his ability to win second segment two despite being sent to the rear early for turning around Howard Stoner.

“That was my mistake, but it still worked out,” Branham said. “This was all out racing. That’s my style. I told the crew we needed to make sure the car is right every segment and they did.”

Begor won the first 20-lapper, a car-length ahead of Nick Heywood and Branham. Robin Wood was the overall third-place finisher. Heywood and Joey Roberts were 4-5. The rest of the overall top-10 was filled by Bill Thwaits, Brandon Atkins, Dave Rabtoy, Casey St.Clair and Fred Lagoy.

Josh Terry drove to his first Renegade career win in the Vermont Life Safety/Adirondack Transmission No. 43. Joe Warren, in contention throughout, finished second, four feet ahead of point leader Kevin Boutin. Boutin gained five positions in the final 10 laps. Robert Gordon was fourth, followed by Lance Rabtoy. Positions 6-10 went to Larry Underwood, Curtis Seymour Jr., Don Franklin, Jason McClatchie and Robbie Favreau.

Dirt track veteran Rich Tobias of Reading, PA, drove to his first ever win on asphalt in the SpeedSTR/RevStar International Cup Sprint Car Series 25-lap feature. Paul Lotier Jr. of Lebanon, PA was second. Yannick Poirier of St. Mathieu de Beloeil QC was third.

Curtis Lagrave Jr. passed Josh Durivage for the lead at the halfway mark and won the Busch Bomber 15-lap feature. The Bombers will race 25 laps for $250-to-win Saturday, August 20 on Banker Orchards/Huntley Trucking Night when the Ernie’s Discount Tools DIRTcar Modifieds return to action. All divisions and Kiddie Rides complete the program.

For more information, contact: Tom Herzig (802) 882-8131