Nominations Sought for Oswego High Athletic Hall of Fame

The deadline for this year’s nominations for the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame is a few months away.

Since its inception the Hall of Fame has seen team and individual champions, coaches and contributors  recognized.

For nearly 160 years Oswego athletics has been an integral part if the Oswego City School District.

Through the tremendous support of the Buccaneer Boosters, Athletic Director Mike Conners and the Oswego City School District the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame has continued to flourish.

The Hall is modeled after the New York State Public High Schools Athletic Association’s (NYSPHSAA) Hall of Fame with four categories of recognition; Athletes, Coaches, Contributor and Team.

There is eligibility criteria which is necessary to be considered into the hall of fame.

The Eligibility Criteria consists of:

The nominee must have attended Oswego City School District and participated in interscholastic athletics sponsored by the Oswego City School District for minimum of two years OR

Coached a Oswego City School District team or teams for a minimum of ten years OR:

Made significant contributions to the students of Oswego City School District through interscholastic athletics OR:

Attended Oswego City School District and may not have necessarily participated in the sports program but has made significant contributions in the world of sports OR:

Been an Oswego Varsity Athletic Team whose accomplishments have raised the bar and left a legacy on high school athletics at Oswego and Section III Athletics.

A 10-year waiting period is required for an individual for induction from the time leaving OHS.

To receive a nomination form you may; contact Mike Conners at 315-341-2019 or [email protected]; or Bill Foley District Clerk at 315-341-2020 or [email protected]

Nominations for the class are due to the athletic office by October  15.

The Oswego High School Hall of Fame induction ceremony is open to the public and will be in the Spring of 2014.