Novelis Fan Can Chase Continues Saturday at Oswego Speedway

OSWEGO, NY – The second round of the 2014 Oswego Speedway and Novelis Fan Can Chase will take place on Saturday at the Speedway as a part of Christmas in July at the ‘Steel Palace’ from 3-6 p.m.

Fans are encouraged to bring their recyclable aluminum cans to the Speedway prior to racing and redeem those cans for a chance at Speedway race tickets and prizes.

In the past four seasons, this recycling partnership has surpassed the half million mark in recyclable cans thanks to the generous race fans that have donated an average of more than 100,000 cans per year.

Each fan that brings in 500 or more cans on a can night will get one chance at a 2-Seat ride to be raffled that evening and scheduled for a date to be determined. Valued at $150, a ride in the 2-Seat Supermodified is sure to be the thrill of a lifetime.

The final of the three ‘Novelis Fan Can Chase’ nights will be during the annual Mr. Novelis Supermodified and Mr. Pathfinder Bank SBS Series night at the races on August 2.

Again, the times for the can collection will follow the 3 to 6 p.m. format.

The current leaders in the overall Novelis Fan Can Chase are Ron Gunther, Mike Howard, Jim Larkin, Mark Johnson, Ricky Pritchard, Nancy Wygant, Mary Spaulding, Chris Cote, and Lester Smart.

Collection times on all nights begin before the grandstand gates open, however you can come and pick up your tickets at the box office before dropping cans to the Novelis and Scribe Lane Redemption collection center in front of the Speedway.

In order to drop cans for the collection you must show a Speedway entry ticket from that night of racing.

The recycling can program prizes offered for 2014 will again focus on reducing the overall cost of a night at the Speedway for fans. Budweiser International Classic Weekend tickets and season passes will still be the primary prizes that are awarded.

Since all fans must purchase a race ticket on the dates of the collections to earn any prizes that are offered, some fans will instantly get a break on their night choice inside the Speedway.

The donation of 100-199 New York State 6 cent recyclable cans from the same household will earn one family member a $7 food voucher for the concession stands on that night. Households with donations of 200-499 cans will earn one general admission ticket for a future regular race night, while those who donate between 500-999 cans will be rewarded with two general admission tickets for a future regular race night and one chance to win a 2-Seat Supermodified ride to be raffled that night.

All households with donations of 1,000 or more will win guaranteed general admission passes for two on Saturday and Sunday of Budweiser International Classic Weekend, as well as a chance to win a 2-Seat Supermodified ride.

Only one reward, per household, per redemption can be cashed in on a single race night. Once a household donates to a certain prize level (100, 200, 500, 1000) they will receive only that level’s rewards, not all those below as well. Please refer to the prize level chart listed below.

Grand Prix Night and Christmas in July will also be a Price Chopper Tickets to Go event with tickets available at any Price Chopper Supermarkets location for only $14.  As always kids 16 and under are free with a paid adult.

Grandstand gates will open on Saturday with the beginning of hot laps at 4 p.m. Santa Claus will be available for the kids at 6 p.m., with the night’s first heat race taking the green at 6:30 p.m.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or LIKE on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline.’

To purchase tickets for the 2014 racing season call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.

Novelis Fan Can Chase Leaders as of May 24:

1.    Ron Gunther: 1,750 cans

2.    Mike Howard: 1,670 cans

3.    Jim Larkin: 1,050 cans

4.    Mark Johnson: 1,020 cans

5.    Ricky Pritchard: 1,020 cans

6.    Nancy Wygant: 1,015 cans

7.    Mary Spaulding: 1,010 cans

8.    Chris Cote: 1,006 cans

9.    Lester Smart: 1,000 cans