Novelis Fan Can Chase Continues Saturday at Oswego Speedway

OSWEGO, NY – The second round of the popular Novelis Fan Can Chase is this Saturday as a part of Oswego Speedway’s Independence Weekend Grand Prix special presented by the Walker Enterprises D-Bus.

Can collections will take place outside of the Speedway’s main entrance from 4-6 p.m. with collections made by Scriba Bottle & Can Return.

Fans returning anywhere from 100 to 1,000 or more cans per event will receive prizes ranging from free food vouchers, to free weekly general admission tickets, to Classic Weekend tickets, and rides in the Canale Insurance and Accounting 2-Seat Supermodified.

Overall stats are also kept for year-end prizes.

Current Novelis Fan Can Chase leaders are Josh Crannell, Jim Larkin, Brad Hamilton, Mark Johnson and Ricky Pritchard.

The final Novelis Fan Can Chase collection night will be July 23 as the Speedway and Novelis celebrate the 30th running of the $10,000 Mr. Novelis Supermodified main event.

Oswego Speedway is ready to return to action on Saturday 2 for the Speedway’s Grand Prix night featuring extra distance features and the annual Christmas in July Toy Drive.

All those who bring a new and unwrapped toy, which will be donated to the Hannibal Central School Christmas Bureau in association with Toys for Tots of Oswego County, will receive a free hot dog combo meal.

Pit gates will open on Saturday at 3:15 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 4:30 p.m. with the start of hot laps. Santa Claus will arrive in the Tiki Bar for kids at 6 p.m. and the night’s racing action, which will be capped with a 75-lap Novelis Supermodified main and a 35-lap Pathfinder Bank SBS feature, will go green at 6:30 p.m.

To celebrate the Fourth of July Weekend – an exciting fireworks display will end the evening, post-race.

Kids 16 and under will again be admitted free at all Speedway events in 2016, including the rear grandstand this weekend, with the exception of Budweiser International Classic Weekend and Race of Champions Weekend.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit

You can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and like on Facebook at

Novelis Fan Can Chase Collection Leaders:

1. Josh Crannell – 1,200
2. Jim Larkin – 1,190
3. Brad Hamilton – 1,050
4. Mark Johnson – 1,045
5. Ricky Pritchard – 1,040
6. Charles Goodway – 1,025
7. Mary Spaulding – 1,020
8. Ron Gunther – 1,015
9. Chris Cote – 1,010
10. Chris Lupa – 1,010