OHS Hockey Teams Wins Section III Championship

Championship Bucs Hockey Team (Photo by Dr. Kearns)
Championship Bucs Hockey Team (Photo by Dr. Kearns)

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego High School boys’ hockey team could not have picked a better time to have one of the best games of the year.

On Saturday, at the Utica Auditorium the Oswego High School Bucs dominated Skaneateles with a 5-0 win en route to the Section III Division II Championships.

The victory advanced the Bucs to the New York State Public High School  Athletic Association quarterfinal against the winner of Section X (either Salmon River or Ogdensburg) this coming weekend as Oswego will play host to the game (at a time and site to be determined).

For goalie Chase Izyk it was the perfect time to pick up the first shut out of his high school career in picking up a dozen saves.

Entering the game the two teams had split the season series with each winning on opponents ice.

The Bucs needed only the first period goal to win this one as Cody Mariano put home a booming slap shot to score on a power play nine minutes into the first period.  John Phillips and co-player of the year Josh Sova assisted on what proved to be the game winning goal.

Oswego then exploded for three second period goals as Phillips put the Bucs up 2-0 and Tyler Grimshaw then hit a perfect lead pass to a breaking Sova who scored.  With just under nine seconds remaining in the period Mariano scored his second man up goal of the game.

In the third Sova scored the final for the Bucs.

The members of the Section III champion team included a dozen seniors.

Though it might seem difficult to believe, this was the first Bucs sectional ice title since the 2004-05 season.

Members of this years’ championship squad included seniors Christopher Bonner, Cody Mariano,  Dan Maniccia, Davie Mathes, James Sperino, Jeremy Purce, John Phillips, Jonathan Kaplewicz,  Josh Sova, Joshua Cooley, Trent Yule and Tyler Grimshaw; juniors Chase Izyk, Daniel Ryan, David Culeton, Jacob Anderson, David Walpole, Kody Bristol and Travis Kearns along with sophomores Brandon Tacz, Hunter Isyk, Jacob Oleyourryk, Mitchell Schrader, Sean Mooney and Zachary Zerrahn and frosh Anthony Donabella and Christopher Jadus.

Head Coach and coach of the year Andy Rozak earned his first title and his assistant coach is Chris Ackley who played for Buc Sectional champs in the late ’90s.

Oswego had an offensive afternoon as co-player of the year goalie Trevor Diamond stopped 30 of the 35 shots.

The Bucs advance to the next round with a 16-4-1 record.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.