OMS String Orchestra Repeats As Darien Lake Music Festival Grand Champion

Submitted Article

OSWEGO, NY – It isn’t often that someone gets to repeat as being a “Grand Champion,” but don’t tell that to the Oswego Middle School eighth graders  who are members of the OMS String Orchestra.

Members of the Oswego Middle School String Orchestra proudly display the “Grand Champion” award another other hardware that they received at the annual Darien lake Music Festival. From left are director Deb Mazurek, Morgan Hanley, Emilie Benigno and Austin Carosella.For the second consecutive year the Oswego Middle School String Orchestra returned from Darien Lake Music Festival at Six Flags Darien Lake with the “Grand Champion” trophy.

Director Deb Mazurek said, “We performed three pieces for an enthusiastic audience which included two judges. There were choruses, bands and orchestras from Central and Western New York State. Dozens of groups performed including elementary, middle and senior high groups.”

Mazurek continued, “We were also awarded a ‘Superior with Distinction’ trophy as the orchestra earned a 97.95 score out of a possible 100 points.”

The orchestra director said “I am very proud of all of these students for not only their performances, but for representing Oswego with their excellent behavior, supportive character and teamwork. The trophies were just the icing on the cake. Our goal is excellence at every level and the Oswego Middle School Orchestra achieved that.”

The eighth grade members of the orchestra included Emilie Benigno, Victoria Frazier, Mary Cate Rice, Erick Earhart, Anthony Gentile, Mathew McCabe, Alyssa Suits, Veronica Bueno, Austin Carosella, Rachael Chetney, Scott Gioia, Jason Thompson,  Oran Baltus, Cassie Collins, Danielle Holland, Nathan McKean, Jacob Getman, Amelia Gump, Stephen Richmond, Justin Zukovsky, Steven Hill, Morgan Hanley, Phi Phung Nguyen, Geoff Taylor, Eve Simmonds, Adirenn MacDougall, Tayler Gustafson, Khali Rivera, Hannah Allen and Josh Ewig.

Seventh grade members included Matt Getman, Liam McMahon, Elisabeth Michaud, Zemiah Phrance, Catherine Clancy, Lauren Dafoe, Gavin Gilbert, Jason Lowery, John Carlo Verceles, Alison Burnett, Fred Johnson, Courtney Kelly, Alison Bush, Lauren Peel, Jacob Ponzi, Tay Solazzo, Nick Costo, Alyssa Ferreira, Jacqulyn Godfrey, Cooper Levine, Kelsey Hughes, Benjamin McElroy, Grant Richmond, Tyler Rigby, Nick Stubba, Jimmy Dillon, Tom Dillon, Rachael Lubinga, Mackenzie Palmer, Gordon Pan, Nicole Torres, Erin Chetney, Patty Talamo, Senna Handley, Kaela Shafer, Mike Crisafulli, Calie Spedding and Elizabeth Westcott.

The judges were quite impressed by the OMS student musicians and noted that they had performed with “great musical precision.”

They were also impressed with the large number of string students and their ability to play with “musical nuances, excellent balance and spirit.”

The long ride home was pretty easy for these proud Oswego Middle School students and one noted, “We’re going to win number three next year.”