OMS Top 50 Recognized for Academic Achievement

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego Middle School Top 50 was recognized at the eighth annual “Top 50” dinner.

Once again the Oswego Sunrise Rotary Club, the Oswego City School District and Pathfinder Bank sponsored the special event to place the OMS students in the spotlight.

The Oswego Middle School Top 25 Eighth Graders
The Oswego Middle School Top 25 Eighth Graders

Peter Myles, Oswego City School District Human Resource and Personnel Director, told the 50 students, “You have shown what it takes to be a success and have achieved this goal through hard work and dedication.”

Myles was substituting for Superintendent of Schools Bill Crist who was celebrating the graduation of his daughter from college.

Oswego Middle School Principal Mary Beth Fierro, said, “I have watched this year as these students have led their peers in the classroom, in music performances both locally and all-county, they have led on the sports fields, ‘Battle of the Book’s, the  Scripp’s National Spelling Bee, Student Council, outside competitions and the list goes on and on. Your children are the leaders of today and tomorrow.”

The top 25 seventh and eighth graders each received a framed certificate which was presented by Board of Education Vice President Kathleen Allen, board members Thomas DeCastro and Samuel Tripp as well as  Sunrise Rotary secretary (and host) Donald Todd as Mike Shea read the name of every student.

The Oswego Middle School Top 25 Seventh Graders
The Oswego Middle School Top 25 Seventh Graders

This year’s seventh grade top 25 included Danica Aquitania, Michael Beckwith, Amanda Cali, Derek Caramella, Aaric Celeste, Philip Cummings, Benjamin Dafoe, John DeLapp, Olivia DeLorenzo, Dominick Donabella, Patrick Dowdle, Rachel Godden, Lisa Kanbur, Rachel Leotta, Sammy Mays, Abigail Mulkerin, Madison Plyler, Emily Purce, Jordan Runner,  Sarah Smolinski, Corey Stevens, Hannah Strzelinski, Mikayla Trapasso, Jordan Tryon and Sophia Woods.

Eighth graders recognized at the annual event were  Brynn Adner, Ana Alcasid, Victoria Armet, Jenna Ballard, Katie Bradshaw, Trevor Bradshaw, Ayla Busch, Catherine Carter, Amber Cavellier, Clare Donovan, Olivia Dowdle, Mark Forger, Jacob Gerber, Nicholas Hurlbutt, Evan James, Collin Krassowski, Roman Madlangbayan, Natasha Mezza, Kyra O’Gorman, Samuel Oleyourryk, Elaina Rando, Claire Richardson, Justin Semione, Kelly Skinner and Christopher Van Gorder.

Eight years ago the recognition of the OMS “Top 50” was an expansion of the Oswego High School “Top 100” which spotlights the top 25 in each class.

The members of the Sunrise Rotary wanted to recognize the academic achievements of Oswego’s seventh and eighth graders and became involved with this event.

Among the Sunrise Rotary members in attendance were Bill Symons, Sharon Baker, Carol Reed, Mike Shea and Todd while representing the board of education were vice president Allen, and board members DeCastro and Tripp.

Todd expressed the sincere appreciation of the students’ efforts  and  congratulated them on their accomplishment.

Todd also thanked Pathfinder Bank as well as the Oswego City School District for being involved with Sunrise Rotary in hosting what has become an annual event.