OOC Presents Award To Upstate Energy Jobs Coalition

OSWEGO – At its annual meeting in June, Operation Oswego County presented its 2016 Ally Award to the Upstate Energy Jobs Coalition.

Upstate Energy Jobs Coalition
Pictured from left are: Nick Canale, COIDA board member/UEJ member; Barbara Bateman, OOC board president; Gary Toth, COIDA vice chair/UEJ member; Ted Skerpon, IBEW 97 president and business manager/UEJ member; Carolyn Rush, COIDA chair/UEJ member; and L. Michael Treadwell, OOC executive director.

It was in recognition and appreciation of its outstanding contribution and dedication to preserving the economic benefits and environmental benefits of the nuclear industry in Oswego County and for Upstate New York; for its formation of a diverse and broad-based coalition of government, business, labor, education and economic development leaders throughout Upstate New York who have supported and emphasized the critical role that the nuclear power industry plays in being economic engines that drive our communities; for its effort to have nuclear power recognized as an integral component in the State’s Clean Energy Standard as the most significant producer of carbon-free electricity by providing over 61% of the State’s supply; for being an active and involved supporter of the Clean Energy Standard’s goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 40% and increasing generation from clean and renewable energy sources by 50% by 2030; for its commitment to save the economic benefits of the nuclear plants operating in Upstate New York, including Ginna in Wayne County, Nine Mile Point and FitzPatrick in Oswego County that account for 25,000 direct and secondary jobs, that contribute annually $3.2 billion in State GDP, $144 million in State and local tax revenues and helps to avoid over 16 million tons of CO2 emissions.