Openings Remain in Softball Mini Camp

OSWEGO – There are still openings in the 24th Annual Lady Buccaneer Softball Mini Camp that will be held June 30 – July 2 at the Oswego High School fields for girls ages 9-16 who want to sharpen their skills and have some softball fun.

A participant in the Lady Buccaneer Softball Camp executes a throwing drill during one of last year's drills.
A participant in the Lady Buccaneer Softball Camp executes a throwing drill during one of last year’s drills.

There will be nine hours of quality instruction throughout the three-day camp. Activities will include throwing, position play, base running, team defense, hitting, bunting, sliding and mini-games.

The camp will run daily from 9 a.m. until noon for ages 9-12, and from 1-4 p.m. for players ages 13-16. The camp has a rain date of July 3.

The cost is $50 per player.  There is a sibling discount available, where additional players from the same family can enroll for $40 each. Enrollment is limited to the first 60 players.

All players will receive a commemorative Oswego softball souvenir as well as a player’s report card.

Mike McCrobie, the OHS varsity softball coach, will lead the group of instructors.

He has guided the Lady Buccaneers to three Section III championships, six league titles and six times has been named league Coach of the Year.

He was named New York State Coach of the Year in 1995.

Also providing instruction will be veteran coaches Ron Ahart and Brad Shannon.

They have coached a variety of sports in the OHS athletic department for decades and are currently coaching the successful JV and middle school softball teams, respectively.

The rest of the staff will be comprised of current and former Oswego High School players including SUNY Cortland assistant coach and 2007 OHS grad Abby Martin.

In the past, the camp staff has consisted of OHS alumni who have gone on to play college softball and/or coach at various levels from youth to college.

In past camps, returning alumni have included Erika Lazzaro and Emily Kolenda (Brockport State), Allie Yule (Mercyhurst College), Devynn Wilder (SUNY Cortland), Mollie Schneible (St. John Fisher), Samantha Todd (Cazenovia College), Jenna Wyman (Barry University), Susan Sugar (Le Moyne College), Katie Frawley (Illinois Wesleyan), Nikki Taylor (R.I.T.), Kelly Owings (Union College) and others.

Proceeds from the camp will help defray the cost of the high school team’s bi-annual  spring trip south.

To receive an application or more information, contact McCrobie at [email protected] or call 343-8749.