Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame “Class of 2009” to be Inducted on December 30

Seven new inductees will enter the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame on Wednesday, December 30.

The “Class of 2009” has made substantial contributions to Oswego High School athletics.

Superintendent of Schools Bill Crist said, “I am proud to announce this year’s Hall of Fame members. All have given much of their full energy and life for the betterment of sports and community. “

Continuing Crist noted, “This year’s class includes Helen Kessler, Joseph Wilber, William Symons, Robert L. Farrell, Wendy Seaton Clark, James Jermyn and the 1983 Oswego High School girls’ varsity softball team. The inaugural class of 2008 was a tremendous beginning for our Hall of Fame and this year’s seven inductees are among the elite in Oswego High School history. I would like to welcome all of the new members and look forward to the induction ceremony on December 30th.”

The official induction ceremony will be at the American Foundry at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, December 30. However, all of the inductees will be recognized between the first and second period of the Oswego-Lancaster hockey game at the SUNY Oswego Campus Center in a game that will begin at 1 p.m.

Reservations can be made by contacting Oswego Athletic Director Scott Sugar at 341-2019 or email Sugar at [email protected]

Sugar said, “This would not be possible without the gracious and generous support of the Buccaneer Boosters. The boosters have long supported what we do here in Oswego and they brought this dream of creating a Hall of Fame to fruition last year. Their continued support in this worthwhile project provides recognition for many deserving graduates and coaches.”

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee considered not only athletic accomplishments, but also teams, contributors and coaches.

This year’s newest inductees made quite a mark on Oswego athletics.

The 1983 Oswego High School Girls’ Varsity Softball Team

The team captured the Section III Class A title enroute to a perfect 17-0 season which also brought the OHSL North League title to the Bucs.

Members of the team included Joanne (Dashner) Kessler, Ann Marie (DiGaetano)Clark, Darcy (McAdam)Ahern, Stacie Gleason, Christine Palmitesso, Penny (Davis) Hays, Rose (Delahunt)Kimball, Carolyn (Criss)Nelson, Donna (Clark) Gayne, Laura Witkowski, Rebecca (Thompson) Sivy, Danielle (Martin) Drews, and Brenda (Palmitesso) Kostoroski along with Coach Mary (Franczek) Kinsella.

Helen Kessler

Kessler was an Oswego City School District Physical Education teacher and founded the Girls’ Athletic Association with first year Hall of Fame inductee Helen Jermyn.

She was the girls’ basketball coach of the 1971 Oswego County Champions and as a girls’ swimming coach her 1974 team was unbeaten and Onondaga High School League champions as well as second place in 1973. She also coach girls’ track and field to the county championship ion 1973 and as girls’ volleyball coach earned the 1990 Section III Class A championship as well as the OHSL title that year. She coached volleyball from 1975-1990

Wendy Seaton Clark

The 1989 Oswego High School graduate made her mark in soccer and on the track. She earned the Section III Athlete of the Year award. She was a four year soccer letter winner and first team all league. She was a three year letter winner in indoor track and was first team all league, sectional champion and state meet finalist. In outdoor track she was a four year letter winner and first team all-league, sectional champion and state meet finalist for two years. She still holds five school records in track.

James Jermyn

The 1980 Oswego High School graduate left a lofty list of accomplishments behind. The three year varsity football letter winner was first team all league defense in 1978-79 as well as second team all league on offense during that same year. The following season he was selected first tam offense and defense. In 1979-80 he was also second team all state tight end. He is the career receptions and touchdown record older. He is a three year letter winner in basketball and was second team all-league in 1979-80 as well as the four leading scorer in the league that season. He was a three year letter winner in track and field and was a two time MVP of the County Championship meet. He also was a state qualifier where he finished sixth.

At the college level he was first team all-American tight end at St. Lawrence University.

Joseph Wilber

He was a 1945 Oswego High School graduate and played football, baseball and bowled. He was a physical education teacher for 14 years and coached varsity baseball and jayvee football for 14 years.

Wilber served as the Oswego High School athletic director for 23 years and oversaw the advent of girls’ sports at the Oswego High School.

He was also a New York State High School Sports Committee member and State Modified Committee member.

William Symons

As a four sport athlete in football, basketball, baseball and track Symons was a 1958 Oswego High School graduate.

He served not only as a physical education teacher, but coached varsity football, varsity track, varsity wrestling and jayvee baseball. He also has served as an OHS administrator and is an avid Buccaneer supporter.

Robert L. Farrell

The 1956 Oswego High School graduated was a four year letterman in baseball, three year letterman in football and track and a two year letterman in basketball. He earned 12 of a possible 16 varsity letters.