Oswego Board of Education Welcomes New Member

The Oswego City School District Board of Education will once again have seven active members.

On September 10 Michael McLaughlin will take the oath of office to serve for the remainder of the 2013-14 school year as a member of the board of education.

McLaughlin will be sworn in at the committee and regular meeting of the board at the Oswego High School Anthony J. Murabito Media Center.

McLauglin fills the seat vacated by James Tschudy who left the board in July.

His term will expire on June 30, 2014.

The Oswego City School District Board of Education asked for community applicants for the position and four persons submitted letters of interest.

The board reviewed the information  and conducted a discussion in regards to the filling of  the vacancy.

The board members decided to seat McLaughlin who was the next highest vote-getter in the May 2013 election voting.

During that election Kathleen Allen and Heather DelConte were elected to three-year terms and James Tschudy was elected to fill the remainder of the term vacated by William Myer.

McLaughlin was the next candidate in the voting.