Oswego Celebrates Middle School Top 50

OSWEGO, NY – The sixth annual Oswego Middle School Top 50 Dinner is one of the academic highlights of the year.

Eight grade Oswego Middle School “Top 25”
Eight grade Oswego Middle School “Top 25”

Recently, the Oswego Elks was the setting for more than 200 students, families, friends and community members as the Oswego Sunrise Rotary Club, Pathfinder Bank and the Oswego City School District recognized the “Top 50” students.

OMS Principal Bonnie Finnerty looked out over the well dressed students and jokingly said, “I guess we now have a new dress code.”

However,  turning toward the real reason everyone was gathered she said, “Congratulations for your hard work, perseverance and excellence. I hope you know how proud I am of you.”

Superintendent of Schools William Crist spoke briefly to the students and families.

He said, “Celebrate your years of hard wok and sacrifice, but at the same time hopefully you are having fun. I know you march to your own beat and I challenge you to continue your drive for academic excellence.”

Continuing he said, “Enjoy your life accomplishments and keep up the great work.”

Seventh grade Oswego Middle School “Top 25”
Seventh grade Oswego Middle School “Top 25”

Master of  ceremonies Dave Friedlander introduced the students who received their awards from the superintendent, principal, assistant principal Sean Fahey and Board of Education member Thomas DeCastro.

This year the eighth grade students earning an invitation to the “Top 50” event included Casey Adner, Nina Alcasid, Elizabeth Baker, Jacob Cary, Katelyn Clary, Kyle Collins, Kerrigan Cummins, Samantha Davis, Evan Davis,  Garrett Dunsmoor, Olivia Farden, Michael Farden, Andrea Ferreira, Sarah Hoefer, Cassandra Hondro, Courtney Johnson, Molly Malone, Michaela Moran, Allison Moshier, Elizabeth O’Gorman, Elizabeth Scott, Tara Stacy, Jhannine Verceles, Tory Welsch and Meggie Zhang.

Seventh graders receiving their first invitation to the celebration included Sean Benjamin, Alaina Celeste, Nora Culeton, Erin Delaney, Heather Eastman, Zachary Gillard, Alexandra Henderson, Shea Hewitt, Katherine Knopp, Brianah Lane, Mayraliz Lopez, Jordan McCauley, Jessie Murray, Reilly Patrick, Kiernan Proud, Rachael Purtell, Nicholas Reiner, Connor Sheffield, Brenna Sherman, Allison Smith, Zachary Smolinski, Kara Weiss, Nikolas Whiteside, Vanessa Wiltsie and Carrie Yurkon.

It was a proud night for everyone in attendance.

Oswego Board of Education member DeCastro summed up the evening as he told the students, “I, and the board of education, congratulate each and every one of you. Be proud, stay the course and don’t lose track of your goals and continue to do what you are doing.”