Oswego Council Reorganizes For 2013

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego Common Council got reorganized Wednesday evening.

Councilors voted to reappoint Ronald Kaplewicz (Seventh Ward) as the presiding officer of the council for 2013.

He was approved 5-0. Councilors Fran Enwright, First Ward, and Mike Myers, Second Ward, were excused.

The councilors also approved reappointing Myers as the council’s vice president.

That vote was also 5-0.

As council president, Kaplewicz will assume the mayor’s duties in his absence; and, if he becomes incapacitated for any reason, he would take over as the acting mayor.

The council president can be reached at 216-4045 or [email protected]

However, the proceedings hit a snag when it came time to adopt the rules of the council.

Councilor Dan Donovan, Fifth Ward, sought to have part of the rules stricken.

Rule III, line 6 and Rule IV, line 1, would authorize an additional compensation of $5,000 per year for the council president and $2,500 for the vice president.

“They wanted a raise; the president and the vice president. It’s not right,” said Councilor Shawn Walker, Fourth Ward. “It’s not time yet.”

Walker was council vice president in 2011, 2010 and 2009.

Donovan, who was council president prior to Kaplewicz, agreed, adding with everyone else taking cuts, now isn’t the time for them to take a raise.

When people are facing tax hikes, now isn’t the time for raises, Walker said, adding, “Maybe somewhere down the road. But not right now.”

The council rules of 2012 will be carried over for a while longer and this issue to likely return to the committee level for further discussion.

Donovan moved to amend the rules. There was a motion to table the amendment right after that.

The ‘table the amendment’ was defeated and then they went on to table the entire rules resolution.

Also, the councilors voted to continue having council meetings at 7:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. Unless it’s a legal holiday and would then be held the following day.

Fifteen minutes prior to each council meeting will be an opportunity for the public to speak.

Three banks were designated as the depositories for public money – JP Morgan Chase and Community Bank, both in Oswego, and M&T Bank (EFC Funding) in Buffalo.

City Chamberlain Deborah Coad was appointed the chief fiscal officer for the city.

The council also adopted regular office hours.

Office hours for the mayor shall be 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The following offices shall be open to the public from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday: Assessor, Code Enforcement, City Chamberlain, City Clerk and Municipal Records, Community Development, City Engineer, Mayor’s Office, Personnel Department, Plumbing Inspector, Purchasing Office, Water Billing Office (in Chamberlain’s office), Zoning and Planning Office.

The following offices shall be open to the public from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.: Fire Chief’s Office, Police Chief’s Office and the Traffic Office/Police Department.

The following office(s) shall be open from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.: Public Works Department (includes Parks, Recreation and Waterfront).

The following office shall be open from 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.: Wastewater Treatment Plant, west office; Water Treatment Plant office.

The Animal Control Office shall be open from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. for staff only. It will be open to the public from 1 to 4:30 p.m. For the months of June, July and August, the hours shall be: 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. staff, and 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. for the public.

The council also approved a tax anticipation note for the new year.