Oswego Country Club Membership Approves Major Enhancement Project

Oswego Country Club

Oswego Country Club

OSWEGO, NY – One hundred and twenty years after it was founded and 23 years after its last major renovation project, the membership of the Oswego Country Club has voted in favor of a major renovation project to its main clubhouse and pro shop/locker room building.

" data-medium-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-300x189.jpg" data-large-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-460x290.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-211588" src="http://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-300x189.jpg" alt="Oswego Country Club" width="300" height="189" srcset="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-300x189.jpg 300w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-150x94.jpg 150w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/OCC_Clubhouse-460x290.jpg 460w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Oswego Country Club

”This is a very exciting time for Oswego Country Club and our membership,” said Oswego Country Club Board President Tom Van Schaack. “The club is already one of the finest golf courses in all Central New York, and now we will have the facilities to match.”

The renovation plan, accepted at the special membership meeting on March 5, includes a renovation of the dining room area, a new and expanded patio area extending from the present dining room to a patio with fire pit directly behind the 1897 Tavern, looking out at the infamous 9th green.

The locker room area will be updated with new lockers and shower facilities for both men and women.

There will be extensive work to enhance the swimming pool area and renovation to the swimming pool changing rooms, as well as exterior work on the cart barn and maintenance building.

New siding will be installed on both the clubhouse and locker room facility.

Ground breaking will take place in the very near future with plans to open the expanded clubhouse in late-May. An open house and grand opening of the clubhouse will be scheduled sometime in the late summer or early autumn.

On February 2, 1903, the club purchased the land on which it stands today, encompassing the same parcel that it had been leasing since 1899.

The formal opening of the present clubhouse took place on September 7, 1903.

The last major renovation occurred in 1994, when then-President Robert Crist appointed a committee headed by Charlie Janice and composed of Mike Masuiccia, Jim Molinari, Pete Moroz, Jim Patka, and Bill Shigley to recommend a plan to renovate the clubhouse structure.

That renovation included the addition of a new tavern area and expansion and modernization of the present dining room.

The “Country Club” boasts one of the finest conditioned golf courses in all of Central New York under the direction of Course Superintendent Scott Peters and will now have a facility to equal the course.

The 6,410-yard tract has been the scene of many tournaments and boasts a wonderful Junior Golf Program under the auspices of PGA Golf Professional Michelle Murphy and her assistant and PGA Teaching Professional Dan Murphy.

In addition to their full family and single golf memberships, Oswego Country Club offers memberships at a social and pool level and various affordable Junior Golf Memberships for ages 18 to 30 years.

For membership information, go to www.oswegocountryclub.com or contact the office at (315) 343-4664.

The renovation project was directed by facility chair Atom Avery.

The committee included Tara Fitzgibbons, Dan Dorsey Jr., Pete Cullinan, Paul Kemper, Larry Morgia and Bill Price.

The Club is headed by President Tom Van Schaack, First Vice President Matt Bacon and Second Vice President Paul Kemper.