Oswego County Declares Fair Housing Month

OSWEGO – The Oswego County Legislature proclaimed April as Fair Housing Month during its monthly meeting.

" data-medium-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-300x200.jpg" data-large-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-460x307.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-235481" src="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-300x200.jpg" alt="Fair Housing Month proclaimed" width="300" height="200" srcset="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-300x200.jpg 300w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-150x100.jpg 150w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/fair-housing-month-460x307.jpg 460w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Fair Housing Month proclaimed

The Fair Housing Law prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, religion, color, disability, national origin, sexual orientation, military status, age, sex, marital status or familial status in the sale, rental or advertising of housing or residential real estate transactions.

The Legislature’s Economic Development and Planning Committee presented a proclamation supporting equal housing opportunities to all county residents.

Pictured from left are David Turner, Director of the Department of Community Development, Tourism and Planning; Legislator Paul House, District 8, Hastings; committee chairman Tim Stahl, District 20, Oswego; legislative member of the Fair Housing Council James Karasek, District 22, Granby; Dona Lee Falciatano, Housing Program Coordinator; Mary Chesbro, District 10, Pennellville; Roy Reehil, District 5, Constantia; Marie Schadt, District 19, Oswego; and Morris Sorbello, District 23, Granby.