Oswego County Solid Waste Reminds Residents of Facility Operating Hours

county logo

OSWEGO – The Oswego County Solid Waste Department reminds residents that new operating hours for the solid waste transfer stations took effect July 1.

The change in schedule does not affect the household hazardous waste collection facility at the Bristol Hill Landfill.

The new schedule was implemented in order to save costs and was developed after an extensive review of traffic, waste and recyclables hauled to the five transfer stations.

The Hannibal transfer station is closed Mondays; Pulaski is closed Tuesdays; Hastings is closed Wednesdays; Oswego is closed Thursdays; and Bristol Hill is closed Fridays.

The transfer stations and recycling drop-off centers are open weekdays from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon. Sticker and punch card sales and weigh scales close ½-hour before the transfer stations close.

Transfer stations and recycling drop-off centers are located at Bristol Hill, 3125 NYS Route 3, Volney; 1167 County Route 7, Hannibal; 1391 U.S. Route 11, Hastings; 700 E. Seneca St., Oswego; and 100 County Route 2A, Pulaski.

The household hazardous waste disposal facility, located at Bristol Hill, is open Wednesdays and Saturdays and closes for the season Sept. 27. Household hazardous wastes are collected between 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. every Wednesday, and between 8 and 11 a.m. every Saturday.

The household hazardous waste disposal program is free to Oswego County residents and is sponsored by the Oswego County Legislature and the NYS Department of Environmental Conservation.

“The household hazardous waste collection facility gives residents a convenient way to safely dispose of expired chemical products and unwanted hazardous wastes,” said Frank Visser, Oswego County Solid Waste Director. “This method of household hazardous waste management has proven to be cost-effective and user-friendly. Materials are packaged and stored in a secure area until a sufficient amount has accumulated for shipping.”

Customers should pull their vehicle up to the side of the building, which is located between the transfer station and solid waste offices.

Drivers should remain in their vehicles and wait for materials to be unloaded by the solid waste department staff.

For a complete list of items that are accepted at the facility, visit http://www.oswegocounty.com/dsw/hhw.html

The Solid Waste Department also accepts hazardous wastes from Oswego County businesses that meet the regulatory requirements.

Business owners should contact the Solid Waste Office to find out if they qualify and to obtain a cost estimate for disposal of materials.

For more information, call the Oswego County Solid Waste Office at 591-9200, or visit the Department of Solid Waste Web site at http://www.oswegocounty.com/dsw/index.html