Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame Inductions Set Saturday

The “Class of 2012” will be inducted into the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame this Saturday 20 at Alexandria’s.

The Oswego Buccaneer Boosters Club continues its support of the Hall of Fame as the fifth class will be introduced and inducted as members of the elite Buc athletes.

This year’s class included athletes Francis “Fran” Carl, Sherry (Brown) McCann, Howard “Howie McCann, and Debbie (Miller) Lyons along with veteran coach Erwin “Jeep” Dewey.  Also inducted will be the Division I state runner up 1995-06 and 1996-97 Oswego High School boy’s hockey teams.

Reservations can be made by contacting Bev DeLong at the Oswego High School Athletic Office at 341-2019.

“Howie” McCann was a four-year varsity baseball player and also played football for three years and basketball for two. He currently is owner of McCann’s Windward Baseball Academy. He played collegiately at Gulf Coast Community College and Mississippi State. He was drafted by the Minnesota Twins in 1984. McCann was also recognized numerous times by
the league for his outstanding athletic contributions.

Sherry (Brown) McCann graduated 15th in an Oswego High School class of 535 and excelled not only academically, but in athletics. She was a basketball and tracks stand out for four years and was also involved in gymnastics and cheerleading. Sherry received numerous all league and school honors.

Debbie Miller earned over 13 varsity letters over her four years career in softball, volleyball, basketball and soccer. She was the 1977 most outstanding female athlete at OHS and still ranks in the top ten in many categories in the OHS softball record book.

Carl completed in Oswego High School athletics in the late 1940s and was a standout in football and basketball.

Coach Dewey has been at the helm of the track program for 50 years and also served 19 years as the varsity football coach and 14 years in the frosh and jayvee program for a total of 33 years of gridiron dedication. He has coached many all league and sectional as well as
state qualifiers and watched many of his athletes continue on to successful college careers.

The two hockey teams consist of many players who contributed both years in the seasons which concluded as state runners up in the New York State Public High School Association Division I Championship Tournament.

In 1995-96 the team finished 21-3 and the following year was 21-7-1.

Members of both teams were Mark Donabella, Matt Vashaw, Mike Tucker, Mike Foley, Steve Cook, Phil Carroll, Chris Rinaldo, Ben Perlman, Chris Ackley, Greg Parr, Mark DeSantis, Travis Doty, Nate Elliott, and Kevin Jung

On the 1995-96 squad were Matt Von Esch, Brendan Coliver, Ben Miller, Pat DeBan, Josh Crannell, Erik Cole and Jeremy Knopp.

While the 1996-97 team also included T.J. Barnes, Dan Farley, Chris Mathes, Derek Carr, Lou Iorizzo, Josh Molinari, Bob Haynes, Mike Fortier, Tris Gillen, Brian Gallagher.

The Buc Booster Club sponsored Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame continues to grow this week with the addition of these outstanding athletes and coach.

Once again all honorees are guests of the Buc Boosters, but reservations for family, friends and community members are $25 per person and should be made as soon as possible.