Oswego Kartway to Honor Champions at Annual Awards Banquet

OSWEGO, NY – With the record setting 2013 season at Oswego Kartway now in the rear view mirror, attention turns to the annual championship awards banquet to be held on November 16 at Lighthouse Lanes in Oswego.

The banquet, set to begin at 6 p.m., will once again honor the season long track champions in all 11 Kartway divisions as well as the semi-pro division champions as a part of the inaugural Fall Frenzy series.

Pictured are the 11 Oswego Kartway division champions that will be honored during the annual awards banquet at Lighthouse Lanes in Oswego on November 16. (Bill Taylor)
Pictured are the 11 Oswego Kartway division champions that will be honored during the annual awards banquet at Lighthouse Lanes in Oswego on November 16. (Bill Taylor)

Another highlight of the evening will be the Oswego Kartway Rewards Program drawings, featuring a brand new Slack Axiom kart chassis, a full set of Burris Racing wheels and tires, and an RJ Kart Sales prepared Clone motor.

A total of 44 Oswego Kartway members had perfect attendance this season, making them eligible to win the Slack Axiom grand prize worth over $2,200. Drivers missing one event will then be added into the drawing for the full set of racing tires and wheels, with drivers missing two events being added next for the RJ Kart Sales Clone motor drawing.

A number of other door prizes will also be up for raffle to all Oswego Kartway members in attendance at the banquet.

The banquet is free to attend for each Kartway member and one guest.

All other guests in attendance will need to pay $8 at the door.

Championship jackets from Top Stitch will be awarded to all 2013 track champions, as well as trophies from Platinum Promotional Products.

Josh Ostrander took the 2013 championship in the Sr. Blue Clone division, scoring 950 points with five feature wins.  Ostrander outdueled Matthew Barbour, Tyler Trump and Robert Stevens for the competitive championship.

In Jr. Silver Clone it was Dylan Trump picking up the track championship. Trump put on a season long battle with Carl Emmons III to win the title by only 10 points. Trump’s four feature wins to Emmons’ three ended up being the deciding factor in the championship.

Alex Losurdo won six feature events in Jr. Blue Clone to win the season long track championship by 20 points over Ryan Perkins.  Losurdo, Perkins, and Seth Perrin were the only drivers to record wins in Jr. Blue Clone in 2013 but Sean Simmons, Brittney Baum, Katelynn Stevens and others were hot on their heels through the year.

With a runner-up championship finish in Sr. Blue Clone, Matthew Barbour would still go on to claim track championship honors in Gold Plate.  Barbour racked up four feature wins during the regular season, beating out Kelsey Wright and Ryan Shanahan for the championship.

Dan Kapuscinski scored seven main event victories in Stock Heavy to take the track championship over Ron Abbott, Paul Fountaine, and Kirk Smith.  Kapuscinski won nine out of ten main events entered during the 2013 regular season between Stock Heavy and Stock Light.

Joe Hayden scored the ultra-competitive Clone Heavy championship over DJ Shuman and Chris Knight this season.  Hayden won four main events on his way to the title, two more than any other driver in the division.

BJ Ingersoll was the 2013 Stock Animal track champion at the Kartway, edging out Cris Lane and Ron Billings for the championship.

With two main event wins on the year, Ingersoll narrowly scored the title by only three points over Lane.

Clone Light would see three time feature winner Takota Jacobson crowned as the 2013 track champion. Jacobson battled for much of the season with fellow three time winner Kaylynn Simmons, but Simmons missed the final event of the year to move on to college. Aaron Sheldon and Aaron LaTulip took second and third in the final standings.

Corey Norton once again had his way with the Open division this year, claiming six feature wins to take the championship.  Norton was chased by Alan Lane and Lewis Lewis for much of the season, as each scored one main event win during the year.

Stock Light saw a tight battle all season between Jake Sivers, Chris Natoli, Robbie Bruce, and Tom Perrin.  Sivers, who won one main event during the year, would go on to score the championship over Natoli.

Natoli, who missed one race during the season, went to victory lane twice during the year, tied with Kapuscinski for the division lead in 2013.

DJ Shuman, who took second in the Clone Heavy standings, would claim the Clone Super Heavy championship over Dick Dann.

Both Shuman and Dann collected three main event wins during the year.

A tentative 2014 division structure and season schedule will be available at the banquet for review.

To speak with a Kartway representative call the Oswego Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.