Oswego Laker Club Hockey Team Wins Canton Tourney

Submitted article

The Oswego State Men’s Club Hockey Team recently participated in the third annual Terry Martin/Pride’s Corner Tournament which was hosted by Canton University. Other ACHA D1 teams to participate were Cornell and John Carroll University.

The first game of the tournament found the Lakers facing off against the host Kangaroos. Oswego was decidedly the underdog for several reasons: It was homecoming weekend for Canton University and it would be the first time the public would be able to tour the university’s new hockey arena and athletic facility and secondly, the Canton University team is ranked #19 in the country. They had only lost two previous times this season and were on a six game winning streak.

As soon as the game started, it seemed as though Canton would have no trouble with the Oswego team as Canton scored their first goal within the first 16 seconds of the game. They dominated the first period and the score was 3-0 two minutes into the second period. However, penalties proved to be Canton’s undoing as Oswego scored three power play goals to tie up the game by the end of the second period.

Oswego’s Chris Timmons scored the Laker’s fourth goal at the beginning of the third period and then his second goal of the game with four minutes left as the pesky Lakers shocked and silenced the loud and very large hometown crowd by scoring five straight goals. The other Oswego goals were scored by Justin Smith and Chris Covel (2). Assists were credited to Covel, Nick Atkins (Auburn), Brad Kervin, Chase Collins and Mike Conklin. Senior goaltender Anthony Sellitti was superb in goal, especially in the third period as he stopped all 12 shots that he faced for a total of 32 saves in the game.

The second game that evening saw John Carroll defeat Cornell 3-2.
The following day Canton University defeated Cornell 11-2 for third place.
In the championship game, it seemed like dejavu for the Lakers as John Carroll jumped out to a 3-1 lead by the middle of the second period. However, just like the day before, the Lakers scored three straight goals and defeated John Carroll 4-3 to win the tournament. Oswego goals were scored by Mike Steinke, Brad Kervin, Nick Atkins and Mike “Rudy” Renick. Assisting on the goals were Adam Webster, Jordan Romano, Smith, Covel and Steinke. Sophomore goaltender Aaron Frohm was credited with the win as he also played tough in the net, stopping 28 shots.

Three Oswego players were named to the All Tournament Team: senior goaltender Anthony Sellitti, sophomore Chris Covel and sophomore Rudy Renick , who was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

As the team celebrated their win, Laker coach Jay Peacock stated how proud he was of his players. He noted that the Oswego team had everything stacked against them when they played Canton: they were playing a great team which is ranked #19 in the nation before their home crowd in their home tournament . Despite the odds, Oswego never gave up and they had faith in themselves as a team. That team toughness carried over the following day as they faced a very good John Carroll team for the tournament championship. Their goal was to win the 2010 Canton University Terry Martin tournament. They succeeded.

The Lakers’ next game will be on December 4 as they host RIT at 7:00 for a non-league contest. Ithaca will travel to Oswego on December 5 for an NECHL league game. That game starts at 2:00. All home games are played at the Campus Center Arena and admission to all regular season games is free.

Oswego is sponsored by the Student Association of Oswego State University. For a complete schedule, roster, pictures and stats, please visit the website at www.oswego.edu/icehockey.