Oswego Middle School Top 50 Recognized

OSWEGO, NY – A celebration of academic success was conducted recently to honor Oswego Middle School seventh and eighth graders.

Eighth Graders
Eighth Graders

The ninth Oswego Middle School Top 50 Dinner was held at the Oswego Elks Club and once again parents, families, friends, teachers, administrators and board of education members congratulated the students who have worked diligently in the classroom and at home to earn deserved recognition.

Superintendent of School Bill Crist, Oswego City School District Board of Education Vice President Kathleen Allen and OMS Principal Mary Beth Fierro congratulated the students on their academic accomplishments and recognized the support of student that is provided by parents and teachers.

Once again the Oswego Sunrise Rotary Club, Pathfinder Bank and the Oswego City School District cooperated to provide this special event for the Oswego Middle School academic leaders.

Seventh Graders
Seventh Graders

Oswego Sunrise Rotary President Cynthia Tascarella welcomed everyone and congratulated the students. She explained that the Rotarians are proud sponsors of this event.

Principal Fierro noted, “It is an honor for me to congratulate this outstanding group of young people on their academic accomplishments. I have watched this year as these students have led their peers in the classroom, in music performances both locally and at all-county events, they have led on the sports fields, ‘Battle of the Books,’ the Scripps Spelling Bee, band and dance competitions, Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts and regular perform community service and the list goes on and on.”

This year’s student guest list included seventh graders Adeline Benjamin, Emily Bradshaw, Claudia Chetney, Christopher Colasurdo, Danielle DelConte, Abigail Douglas, Morgan Familo, Jessica Godden, Grace Hibbert, Dain Jerred, Lauren Jones, McKenzie LaDue, Eleanor Lisec, Margo McBrearty, Alaina McMahon, Benjamin McPherson, Leah Mullen, Laurel Plunkett, Leanna Restani, Cole Ross, Lauren Samson, Kristen Skinner, Katie Smith, Madelaine Taylor and Ryan Tharrett.

Eighth graders earning an invitation to this year’s event included Danica Aquitania, Dalton Babcock, Haley Baker, Michael Beckwith Jr., Amanda Cali, Derek Caramella, Aaric Celeste, Benjamin Dafoe, Olivia DeLorenzo, Dominick Donabella, Patrick Dowdle, Emma Easter, Brianna Hill, Lisa Kanbur, Rachel Leotta, Tianna Moxley, Abigail Mulkerin, Katherine O’Gorman, Madison Plyler, Jordan Runner, Douglas Schneider, Brian Shaw, Sarah Smolinski, Hannah Strzelinski and Jordan Tryon.

In closing Principal Fierro said, “Each day you lead your peers by example and you do the right thing even when no one is looking. You represent your family and school with pride. Congratulations and keep up the great work.”