Oswego Named 2011-2012 OCAY League Champion

The Oswego County Academic Youth League named Oswego High School as the overall 2011-2012 champion.

OCAY League 2011-12 Champions

Accepting the trophy on behalf of Oswego is, left to right: Megan Mahaney, Emily Henderson, Christina Abare, Ashley Pitters, Emily Fleishman, Andrea Folgherait, Patricia Talamo, Paige Hart and team coach Joshua DeLorenzo.

Oswego placed in all four of this year’s competitions, nabbing three gold medals and one bronze medal.

The trophy presentation took place following the final competition on April 13.

OCAY League is coordinated through Oswego County BOCES’ Instructional Support Services as part of the Gifted and Talented Programs cooperative services.

It was created fifteen years ago and inspired by an idea that academics merit a standing comparable to athletics.

Four competitions are held throughout a school year that challenge students’ academic skills and encourage leadership, creativity and cooperative problem solving.