Oswego Pathfinder Peewees Champions Of Mark Mowers Tournament

Oswego Pathfinder Peewees Champions
Oswego Pathfinder Peewees - Torrnament Champions

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego Pathfinder Bank Peewee Hockey team won the championship of the prestigious Mark Mowers Tournament in Whitestown on Sunday when they defeated Lysander in the championship game by a score of 2 to 1.

The following is a recap of the weekend’s games.

Friday – Oswego vs. Whitestown – In the opening game of the tournament, The Pathfinder Peewees went up against a big, aggressive, Whitestown team.

Despite playing for most of the game with only 8 skaters, Oswego came away with a 2-2 tie.

Oswego’s Jordan Sullivan opened the scoring by firing in a wicked wrist shot.

Matt Rodgers and Mark Schuffenecker assisted.

Liam Peterson scored Oswego’s second goal after a slick pass from Rodgers.

Oswego goalie Sam Lafond stopped 31 shots in the game.

Saturday – Oswego vs. Lysander – Oswego got on the winning track in Saturday’s early game by defeating a strong Lysander squad by a score of 5-2.

Justin DeGrenier scored twice for Oswego in the first period, both goals coming after nice passes from Josh Susino.

Peterson scored the third goal, assisted by Sean Dain.

In the second period, Whitney Daino scored on a beautiful top shelf shot, with a nice assist from Peterson.

Peterson closed out the Oswego scoring in the third period, assisted by Rodgers.

The excellent defensive team of Lainey Celeste and Schuffenecker, with solid help from Sullivan, repeatedly frustrated the Lysander forwards.

Goalie Lafond turned away 27 Lysander shots.

Saturday – Oswego vs. Whitestown – In Saturday’s second game, Oswego suffered its only loss of the weekend, by a score of 3-2.

Susino and DeGrenier scored the goals, with assists from Rodgers and Timmy Woodard.

Lafond had an amazing 39 saves.

Despite the loss, Oswego earned enough points to advance to the championship game on Sunday.

Sunday – Oswego vs. Lysander – In a thrilling championship game, Oswego’s Peterson opened the scoring in the first period with his fourth tournament goal.

Assisting on the goal were Daino and Rodgers, his fifth of the weekend.

Later in the period, a goal by the speedy Ryan Gunther, after a nice pass from DeGrenier, gave Oswego a two-goal lead.

The score remained the same until Lysander scored to make it 2-1 with four minutes to play.

Oswego stiffened, and the physical defensive duo of Dain and Woodard delivered several punishing hits, keeping the Lysander offense in check.

As the clock ticked down, Oswego withstood a furious Lysander challenge to hang on to the lead and capture the championship.

Goalie Lafond was remarkable again, stopping 32 shots.

Josh Susino was named the tournament MVP.

“I’m very proud of our players” said Oswego head coach David Kahn. “It was a total team effort.”

Coach Kahn also cited the excellent efforts of the Oswego penalty kill units, which surrendered no power play goals during the tournament.

Coach Kahn is assisted on the bench by coaches Matt Haynes and Chris Dain.