Oswego Recognizes Top 100 OHS Students

Submitted article

Members of the “Class of 2008” have been very successful and several qualified for the “Top 100” dinner every year of their scholastic career. The students were joined by representatives at the annual dinner. In front (left to right) Jenna Skubis, Gabrielle Rumrill, Monique Reeser, Alison Finn, Alyssa Collins, Catherine DiVita, Amanda Donovan, Kristina Licatese, Sara Finn and Katlyn Smegelsky while in back is Board of Education member Fred Maxon, OHS Executive Principal Pete Myles, Superintendent of Schools David Fischer, M. Waruguru Gichane, Hannah Kisselburgh, Justin Pagano, Steven Kolenda, Steve Czarnecki, Oswego Rotary President Bill Crist, Board of Education members Sean Madden and Dave White and founder of the event Rotarian Ed Caraccioli.

Once again the Oswego Rotary Club, Alliance Bank and the Oswego City School District have recognized the academic accomplishments of the Oswego High School “Top 100” students.

This annual event brought together the top twenty-five representatives from each class as they were honored on Sunday, June 1 at the Oswego Elk’s Lodge.

Over 300 persons attended the event and the students were congratulated by Superintendent of Schools David Fischer as well as OHS Executive Principal Pete Myles, and Oswego Rotary President Bill Crist.

This year 17 seniors had the unique distinction of earning an invitation to this dinner for four consecutive years. The students who accomplished this were Alyssa Collins, Steven Czarnecki, Catherine DiVita, Amanda Donovan, Alison Finn, Sara Finn, M. Waruguru Gichane, Jordan Holiday, Hannah Kisselburgh, Steven Kolenda, Kristina Licatese, Justin Pagano, Monique Reeser, Gabrielle Rumrill, Jenna Skubis, Katlyn Smegelsky and Christopher Sova.

The other senior members of the “Top 100” were Steven Abramski, Heather Buske, Elizabeth Donovan, Shannon Donovan, Zackary Falls, Ryan King, Micheal Sellars, and Christopher Wallace

Oswego’s “Top 25” seniors are preparing to continue their education. Steven Abramski is headed to Clarkson University, Heather Buske to SUNY Brockport, Alyssa Collins to Villanova University, Steve Czarnecki to Stevens Institute of Technology and Catherine DiVita to Syracuse University. Amanda Donovan will be attending Nazareth College, Elizabeth Donovan SUNY Albany, Shannon Donovan Syracuse University and Zackary Falls Canisius College.

Alison Finn will attend Lafayette College while Sara Finn is bound for Messiah College. Waruguru Gichane is attending Cornell University, Jordan Holliday LeMoyne College, Ryan King Albany College of Pharmacy and Hannah Kisselburgh is going to Brandeis University. Steven Kolenda is headed to SUNY Fredonia, Kristina Licatese to SUNY Geneseo and Justin Pagano to Lafayette College. Monique Reeser will attend SUNY Binghamton and Gabrielle Rumrill will go to Syracuse University. Micheal Sellars is going to Siena College, Jenna Skubis to Nazareth College, Katlyn Smegelsky Northeastern University, Christopher Sova to LeMoyne College and Christopher Wallace to Clarkson University.

Members of the junior class earning an invitation to the dinner included Jason Audlin, Rebecca Battles, Philip Bolen, Stephanie Ciesla, Carolyn Clemmens, William Darvill, Matthew Demm, Henrik Ehrhardt, Emily Fiorini, Katie Flanagan, Emily Fountain, Rachael Himes, Adam Johnson, Mariah Lalonde, Lisa Laracuente, Abraham McAndrew, Sara Molinari, Meghan Nyman, Kevin O’Connor, Alexis Ranous, Kelsey Scanlon, Elizabeth Scullin, Travis Tesoriero, Eric Tyler and Ashley Welsch.

Sophomores included Katie Abramski, Kristen Bartholomew, Rachel Baxter, Andrew Bush, Rachel Clark, Maia Czarnecki, Samual Czarnecki, Alexis Files, Sarah Hill, Lindsay Johnson, Alexander Kaplewicz, Miguel Lara, Kathryn Lombardo, Griffin Mervine, Daniel Montagnola, Elizabeth Morley, Elizabeth Nielsen, Laura O’Brien, Taylor Phillips, Mason Rabalais, James Reynolds, Amber Scruton, Sarah Skinner, Candace Supernavage and Brian Walczak.

The ninth grade representatives were Angelica Alejandro, Alex Baer, Cody Battista, Nikole Bonacorsi, Chelsee Brockwell, Christina Buckingham, Dominque Canale, William Clary, Danielle Currier, Christina Dehm, Mackenzie Dunsmoor, Rachel Edwards, Justine Harrington, Cooper Harse, Jacqueline Hondro, Evelyn Horan, Alison Knight, Rebecca Krass, Joanna LeFevre, Hayley Lukaczyk, Danielle Mather, Meredith Moshier, Sean Peel, Kaitlyn Scanlon and Rebecca Smith.