Oswego State Athletes Earn ECAC Honors

Centerville, Mass. — The Eastern College Athletic Conference has announced the 2013-2014 ECAC Women’s West Hockey All- Academic Team.

Oswego State earned 11 spots out of 91 selections from nine institutions for the All- Academic Team.

Eight seniors, Olivia Boersen, Catherine Cote, Chelsea Hunt, Leslie Jarvis, Mady Paul, Melissa Seamont, Emma Smetaniuk and Jocelyn St. Clair earned the All-Academic Honors.

Also on the team are junior Bridget Smith and sophomores Lizzy Marks and Tori Trovato.

On top of a tremendous effort in the classroom, the Lakers also pushed themselves on the ice.

The women’s hockey team gained its highest ranking in program history this season as they appeared at No. 9 in the D3hockey.com poll.

They also finished their season with the best record in program history at 17-9-1.

To be selected to the ECAC Women’s West All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year at their current institution and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.00 on a 4.00 scale.