Oswego State Men’s Club Hockey Celebrates End Of Season

The Oswego State Men’s Club Hockey Team celebrated the end of their season with their annual team dinner at the Raging River Barbeque recently. This annual event recognizes the accomplishments of the team during the past season.

The three graduating seniors, Matt Saramak, James Mitchell and Aaron Belair, were presented with their alumni jerseys. This is a gift which is given by Coach Peacock every year to the team’s seniors. The alumni game is the first game the team participates in and is held in September and marks the start of the new season.

While each player was recognized individually, special awards, which were voted on by their teammates, were also presented. The Rookie of the Year was freshman Chris Covel, Most Improved Players were freshmen Mike Renick and Justin Smith, Most Valuable Player was junior Tim Rinck and the Coach’s Award went to junior Nick Atkins.

New club officers for next year were also elected by the team:

Co- Presidents- Brad Kervin and Fabian Loeprick

Vice President- Mike Renick

Secretary- Justin Smith

Treasurer- Brian Tosti

Director of Fundraising- Rob Lippolis

Director of Hockey Operations- Jordan Romano

Director of Player Personnel- Adam Webster and

Travel Coordinator- James Hollowell

The Lakers then presented Coach Peacock with his own black jersey which the players had purchased for him. The jersey was designed by former player Josh Gagnon ’09 and was debuted by the team in January.

Although Matt, Mitch and Aaron will be missed next year, their contributions and loyalty to the program will not be forgotten.

The Lakers are sponsored by the Student Association of Oswego State University and are a D1 ACHA team and are members of the NECHL. For more information, updated team history and statistics for all club hockey players from 2006, visit the website at www.oswego.edu/icehockey. The website is maintained by the Faculty Advisor to the team, Bruce Zellar.