Oswego State Men’s Basketball Head Coach Honored

OSWEGO, NY – The Basketball Coaches Association of New York released its Coaches of the Year list in early June, recognizing Oswego State men’s basketball head coach Jason Leone.

Leone was named the NCAA Division III Men’s Coach of the Year in New York State.

A Syracuse native, Leone led the Lakers to its deepest postseason run in school history, a Sweet 16 appearance. It was the second-straight season Oswego made the NCAA Championship and the third trip in his five years at the college.

He also guided Brian Sortinoto All-America accolades, Leone’s third player to accomplish that status at Oswego.

During his five seasons, Oswego has won more games than any other team in the east region (103) and has had its most wins in any five-year period in program history.

His current career record of 174-76 ranks him 21st nationally and he is second in the east region for career win percentage (.696) among active Division III coaches.

Leone has also been named the SUNYAC Coach of the Year twice (2011-12, 2014-15).

Leone joined an esteemed group of coaches at the collegiate level with this year’s honor, including Syracuse University’s head men’s basketball coach, Jim Boeheim, and head women’s basketball coach, Quentin Hillsman, who each reached the Final Four in 2016.