Oswego Supermodifieds Back in Action Saturday in Summer Championship Special

OSWEGO, NY – After a week off, Oswego Speedway’s flagship Novelis Supermodified division will be back in action Saturday night at the ‘Steel Palace’ as a part of the Speedway’s Summer Championship special presented by C’s Beverage Center and Crop Production Services.

Joining the Novelis Supermodified 50-lap Summer Championship will be a 30-lap title main for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers.

The top drivers in Oswego’s Supermodified division are all expected to be in action including leading championship contenders Otto Sitterly, Dave Gruel, Pat Lavery, Randy Ritskes, and Grand Prix champion Joe Gosek who currently field the front five positions in the championship.

Sixth through tenth shows David Danzer, Michael Muldoon, Michael Barnes, Tim Devendorf, as well as Kody Graham.

Barnes, who has two main event wins this season, missed the opening night of the season and had issues on May 24, but since then has been on a roll, recently finishing third behind Gosek and Bob Bond in the Grand Prix championship on July 5.

Riding sixth in points, Danzer will return on July 19 with his brand new Hawk Supermodified chassis, which showed stellar speed on July 5 before running into oil pump issues during qualifying.

Graham, who sits tenth, continues to impress as of late with the No. 90, racking up two podium finishes during the Twin 35 events in June and again running in superior form on July 5 before being involved in a turn two incident with Lavery.

One of the big stories this weekend is the expected maiden voyage of Joey Payne in the brand new Xtreme chassis Supermodified for Graham/Strong Racing. Payne, who has fielded the Strong’s No. 99 from a year ago the majority of the season, is planning to test the new Xtreme machine during Fast Friday testing on July 18 from 6-10 p.m. in anticipation of debuting the car in the Summer Championship Saturday night.

Joining Payne during Fast Friday on July 18 will be a series of competitors including Sitterly, Brian Sweeney, defending SBS champion Russ Brown, Tim Snyder, Danzer, Greg O’Connor, Graham, Muldoon, and Jeff Abold.

On the Small Block Super side of the pit area, Andrew Schartner continues to pad his championship lead following an eighth consecutive top five finish on July 12 behind first time feature winner Alex Hoag, Jon Tesoriero, Anthony Losurdo, and Danny Abt.

Jack Patrick continues to ride second in the title chase for the SBS series ahead of veterans Barry Kingsley and Kreig Heroth, with sophomore driver Losurdo completing the top five positions.

Mike Bruce, Tesoriero, Hoag, Jason Simmons, and leading Rookie of the Year candidate Camden Proud fill the top ten.

Fans can reserve seats today for this weekend’s Summer Championship by calling the Speedway’s main box office at (315) 342-0646.

General admission seating is available for only $15 this weekend with padded reserved seating for $20. Pit admission on Saturday is $30 with VIP seating available for $75.

Price Chopper Tickets to Go are available for Saturday’s Summer Championship show at any Price Chopper Supermarkets location for just $14 with kids 16 and under again free with paid adult.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com or LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’