Oswego Title Tilt: Barnes, Losurdo Now Lead Speedway Championships

OSWEGO, NY – Four weeks into Oswego Speedway’s championship season has already produced three different lead changes in the race for the track championship in the Speedway’s Novelis Supermodified and Pathfinder Bank SBS divisions.

For the first time in his career, Anthony Losurdo leads the Pathfinder Bank SBS driver's standings at Oswego Speedway, following Saturday's Spring Championship.
For the first time in his career, Anthony Losurdo leads the Pathfinder Bank SBS driver’s standings at Oswego Speedway, following Saturday’s Spring Championship.

After leading the Novelis Supermodified championship through the first two weeks of the season, Michael Barnes’ tough luck in the Jim Shampine Memorial on May 28 handed the point lead over to seven-time Speedway champion Otto Sitterly for the first time this year.

On Saturday night however, the tables turned yet again as Sitterly found himself sideways in between the Speedway’s first and second turns and eventually in the pit area with a 12th place finish.

With Sitterly six laps off the pace and out of the top ten spots, Barnes capitalized in the Syrell Racing No. 68 driving to the third position in the Spring Championship, nearly overcoming front runners Pat Lavery and Keith Shampine.

Barnes’ third top five finish of the season was enough to reclaim his championship lead over Sitterly by 11-markers, his largest lead of the season heading into Saturday’s Novelis Supermodified Twin 35 features presented by Burke’s Do-It-Best Home Centers and A&P Auto Parts.

With four top ten finishes in four starts, Dave Gruel now moves to the third position in the standings following the Spring Championship with feature winners Kody Graham and Lavery riding closely in the top five spots.

Michael Muldoon, the only other driver than Gruel to have a top ten run in every race this season, sits sixth in the standings ahead of Shampine Memorial champion Dave Danzer, Tim Devendorf, Brandon Bellinger, and Dan Connors Jr.

Saturday night was not a night for point leaders as Mike Bond ran into issues as well in his No. 74 Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super.

While racing with Kreig Heroth early on in the main event, Bond found himself in the third turn foam at lap seven, taking on enough damage to end his night.

Despite winning his qualifying heat race, a 19th place finish was more than enough to drop Bond from the point lead, now facing a 24-point deficit from fifth in the point standings.

Waiting in the wings to take advantage of Bond’s mishap was Anthony Losurdo, who now leads the Speedway’s SBS point chase for the first time in his young career.

With three top five finishes, including a fourth place effort on Saturday night, Losurdo and his No. 1 team are on the top of the mountain leading former SBS champion Dave Cliff by a five point edge.

Cliff joins Losurdo as the only two drivers with three top five finishes this season, although neither has yet to find victory lane in 2016.

Camden Proud and feature winners Mike Bruce and Bond hold the remaining top five positions in the standings currently with Saturday night’s feature winner Dalton Doyle, Heroth, Jack Patrick, Barry Kingsley and Scott Shafer the top ten.

Oswego Speedway returns to action June 18 for the Novelis Supermodified Twin 35s along with the first driver autograph session of the season.

Pit gates will open on Saturday at 3 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 4 p.m. with the start of hot laps. The autograph session will be held on the Speedway’s main straight away at 5:15 p.m.

The night’s first heat race will go green at 6:30 p.m.

Kids 16 and under will again be admitted free at all Speedway events in 2016, including the rear grandstand this weekend, with the exception of Budweiser International Classic Weekend and Race of Champions Weekend.

For more information on Oswego Speedway be sure to visit www.oswegospeedway.com.  You can also follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway and like on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.