Pacesetter Award Winners for 2014 Navigation Season

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The U.S. Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation today (March 24) announced that seven U.S. ports in the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Seaway System are receiving the prestigious Robert J. Lewis Pacesetter Award for registering increases in international cargo tonnage shipped through their ports during the 2014 navigation season compared to the previous year.

The seven winners of the Pacesetter Award for 2014 are: the Port of Indiana – Burns Harbor, the Port of Erie, the Port of Duluth-Superior, the Port of Milwaukee, the Port of Cleveland, the Port of Toledo and the Port of Oswego.

“The Great Lakes Seaway System realized a 7.6 percent tonnage increase from 2013 to 2014, a strong performance that reflects the increasing strength of the overall economy,” said SLSDC Administrator Betty Sutton. “Marine transportation remains a catalyst for jobs and productivity for the local economies where these ports are situated and throughout the Great Lakes region.”

Commodities accounting for almost all of the increases in international cargo handled by the seven Pacesetter port winners included asphalt, petroleum products, aluminum, steel, and grain.

High value project cargo such as locomotive cars, electrical transformers and fermentation tanks were also handled during the 2014 navigation season.