Past RoC 200 Champions To Return To Oswego Speedway For 60th Running of the Sunoco Race of Champions 200.

BINGHAMTON, NY – The history is long, the all-time winners list is one of greatness and teams are now preparing to try and become the winner of the 60th Anniversary Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200.  To celebrate the 60th edition of this great event many of the past champions will return to Oswego Speedway on Saturday, September 25th for the most storied event in asphalt Modified racing.

The Sunoco Race of Champions Modified 200 is just around the corner and the pre-entry list is growing quickly.  The Modified 200 will pay a minimum $10,000 to win and could pay over $20,000 with posted bonus lap money that will be awarded.

Past will meet present at Oswego Speedway as a number of former race winners will return to celebrate the 60th year event.  Frankie Schneider a two-time winner of this event in 1954 and 1962 will be on hand along with Wiley Will Cagle a winner in 1966.  Both of their wins came at the Langhorne Speedway.  Schneider collected his on the Langhorne dirt surface and Cagle primarily known for his dirt accomplishments recorded his win on the Langhorne pavement.  Cagle is still racing to this day and had a $20,000 runner-up finish in the INEX Legends National Championship event in Charlotte, NC this summer.

Other retired legends that will be returning include Greg Sacks the 1982 race winner at Pocono Speedway and Brett Bodine the 1985 Pocono winner.  Brian Ross the 1984 Pocono race winner will make his return to Oswego Speedway, a place where he had a lot of success.  Reggie Ruggiero the 1988 Pocono Raceway winner is slated to return along with 1991 race winner Satch Worley, the last year of the Pocono event.

Inaugural Flemington Fair Speedway race winner Lenny Boyd (1992) has indicated he will be at Oswego to celebrate the 60th year event as well.  Family members of the great Richie Evans (1973, 1979, and 1980) will be present at Oswego for the running of the 200. The greatest RoC Champion of all is expected to be at Oswego Speedway too.  Dutch Hoag a five time winner of this event (1956, 1960, 1963, 1967 and 1968) has remained active in the sport as he can be spotted at northeast race events throughout the summer.  Hoag has logged more wins in this storied event than any other driver.  Tim Mangus, the 2002 Oswego Speedway winner from Webster, NY will be part of the ceremonies at the RoC event.

Active Modified drivers returning to Oswego Speedway include:  Eric Beers, Sege Fidanza, Tony Hirschman, Chuck Hossfeld, George Kent, Jan Leaty, T.J. Potrzebowski, Billy Putney and Mike Stefanik.  A commemorative 60th year winners card will be made available to race fans with an autograph session slated with these greats on Saturday of the RoC Weekend.

The Sunoco Race of Champions Weekend is set for Friday and Saturday, September 24th and 25th.  An open practice will occur on Thursday, September 23rd. For a complete schedule of events and pricing please log on to or

To order your tickets please phone the Oswego Speedway box office at 315-342-0646.

*** R.O.C. Press ***