Pat Ward Edges Jimm Phelps in Lapped Traffic for Fulton DIRTcar Win

By Dave Medler

Saturday at Fulton Speedway on Canale Insurance Night, Pat Ward out of Genoa, NY used lapped traffic to his advantage after a torrid battle with Jimmy Phelps. Ward passed Phelps with five to go to pick up the popular 35-lap Big Block Modified main. It was Ward’s second win of the year worth $2,000 to the driver of the Gypsum Express No. 42p.

Other winners on the night were Matt Hulsizer in the 20-lap DIRTcar Sportsman feature, Ron Marsden in the 20-lap DIRTcar Street Stocks, Jon Shumway in the 15-lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, and Bruce Unger picked up a pair of 20-lap Gladiator events.

Matt Fink out raced the field to lead the opening 3-laps of the Big Block Modified Feature before Sean Beardsley took over the top spot one-lap later. With 10-laps in the books Beardsley led by a few car lengths as Jimmy Phelps and Pat Ward set their sights on the leader. Ryan Phelps and Fink ran a distant fourth and fifth.

On lap-15 and Beardsley in lapped traffic, Phelps and Ward drew in on him. One lap later Beardsley got a break with a yellow that took the pressure off. That slow down in the action didn’t last long, on the restart Phelps blasted around Beardsley to be scored the leader on lap-17 as Ward moved into second. By lap-20 Phelps and Ward pulled away from the pack to have a two car battle for the top-spot. Beardsley, Alan Johnson and Larry Wight showed in the top-five.

As the final laps clicked off Phelps and Ward were in traffic, Ward switched from running the top behind Phelps to the bottom and would pull even with Phelps, who was looking for his first victory of the season. In turns three and four coming down to five to go, Ward was able to duck under Phelps in lapped traffic to take the lead. Once out front Ward was able to pull away for the win. Jimmy Phelps settled for second, Sean Beardsley, Alan Johnson and Billy Decker rounded out the top-five.

“Second place was definitely the place to be tonight” said Ward after his exciting win.”If it wasn’t for lapped traffic I don’t know if we would been able to get by him.” Ward went on to say Phelps getting trapped behind the two lapped cars was the difference.

“We were pretty good on the bottom in one and two at the end. It was kind of rough going into one on top, it would really throw the car. Me and Jimmy (Phelps) both went over the cushion, I tried the bottom and it was pretty good. Jimmy was pretty good second was just the place to be when it came to the lapped traffic.”

Mike Fowler led the opening 6-laps of the 20-lap DIRTcar Sportsman Feature before Matt Hulsizer took over on lap-seven. From there Hulsizer totally dominated the rest of the distance parking his Thompson Road Tavern No.55 in victory lane for the second time this season. Alan Fink, Mike Fowler, Jon Tesoriero and Timmy Sears rounded out the top-five. Beth Schneider, Billy Clark Jr., Claude Hutchings Jr., Shane Donath and Jeremy Pitcher completed the top-ten.

In the 20-lap DIRTcar Street Stock Feature Dick Parkhurst took over the lead on lap-2. As the race wore on Parkhurst built up over a half a straightaway lead on the field. Just past halfway Parkhurst made contact with a lapped car damaging his right front ending what seemed to be certain victory.

As the final laps went off the lap counter Ron Marsden led with Pat Hobbs draped all over him. Just when it looked like Hobbs might make a pass for the lead in turn four, Hobbs spun on his own ending his bid for the win. Over the final 4-laps nobody had anything for Marsden as he was the first under the checkers. Dan Hofmann Sr., Dan Searles, Ron Hawker and Rusty Marsden rounded out the top-five.

Jon Shumway took over the lead on lap-4 of the 15-lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman Feature from Joe Kline and never looked back. For Shumway it was his third win of the year for the point leader and a perfect way to celebrate his birthday. Joe Kline, Mark Johnston, Scott Kline and Colton Donath chased Shumway under the checkers.

Bruce Unger continued his dominance in the Gladiators picking up a pair of 20-lap wins Saturday night.

Next Saturday Night August 8 at the Fulton Speedway A-Verdi Storage Containers Presents The ASCS Patriot Sprint Cars. Also on the race card will be the DIRTcar Sportsman, DIRTcar Street Stocks, Mod Lites (Double Features) E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Gladiators. Gates open at 5:00p.m with racing starting at 7:00p.m. For more information go on line to The track office number is 315-593-6531 with the race line reached at 668-RACE. The track is located on Route 57 jus south of the city limits. Free parking and overnight camping will be offered.




DIRTcar Modifieds 35-laps – PAT WARD, Jimmy Phelps, Sean Beardsley, Alan Johnson, Billy Decker, Jim Witko Jr., Larry Wight, Ryan Phelps, Roy Bresnahan, Mike Bowman, Chris Hile, Tony Steiner, Eric Fisher, Brian Berger, Chuck Bower, Chad Phelps, Tim Sears, Matt Fink, Michael Storms, Brian Murphy, Vinnie Vitale, Billy Dunn, Mike Mahaney, Tom Sears Jr., Willy Decker.

DIRTcar Sportsman 20-laps – MATT HULSIZER, Alan Fink, Mike Fowler, Jon Tesoriero, Timmy Sears Jr., Beth Schneider, Billy Clark Jr., Claude Hutchings Jr., Shane Donath, Jeremy Pitcher, Jason Parkhurst, Mark Olmstead Jr., John Pietrowicz, Stewart Garrison, Chuck DeMott, Jordan Bennett, Daniel Sellen, Earl Rudy, Sean McCarthy, Katelyn Kane, Ben Wheeler, Rick Rogala, Gregg Carner, Rich Townsend. DNQ – Joe Gwilt, Greg Kimball, Andrew Ferguson, Mike McCarthy, Jason Occhino

DIRTcar Street Stocks 20-laps – RON MARSDEN, Dan Hofmann Sr., Dan Searles, Ron Hawker, Rusty Marsden, Dan Hofmann Jr., Pat Hobbs, Mike Vaughn, Keith Stevenson, Pete Kowaleski, Adam Guilds, Dick Parkhurst, Scott Springer, Matt Henderson, Steve Woodworth, Ron Gilbert, Daryl Krebs, Clayton Parkhurst.

E&V ENERGY Novice Sportsman 15-laps – JON SHUMWAY, Joe Kline, Mark Johnston, Scott Kline, Colton Donath, Dan Hill, Ed McCarthy Jr., Matthew Parkhurst.

Gladiators – Rain Delayed Feature From July 25 – BRUCE UNGER, Jerry Herbert, Keith Zirbel, Art Dupra, Les Baker.

Gladiators – Regular Feature – BRUCE UNGER, Skip DeGroff, Jerry Herbert, Keith Zirbel, Chris Bonoffski.