Pat Ward Grabs A popular Big Win At Fulton Speedway

FULTON, NY – (By Dave Medler) – Off of a strong third place finish the night before at the Brewerton Speedway that saw teammate Billy Decker pull in victory lane, Pat Ward turned the tables Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway on Decker.

Ward started 12th in the 35 lap feature, taking the lead from Chris Hile on lap 15. Once out front, Ward held off every challenge from Billy Decker for his second Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified win at the speedway this season.

Other winners on Burkes Do-It Best Home Centers night were, Katelyn Kane SUNY Canton Sportsman, Larry Wight NAPA Late Models, Chris Hulsizer E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Skip DeGroff Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Chris Hile jumped out to the early narrow advantage over Jim Witko Jr. and the rest of the field to start the 35 lap Modified feature run.

With 10 laps showing on the scoring tower, Hile was still out front setting a quick pace as he started putting lapped cars between himself and Witko. Behind the top-two, Dan Vauter, Pat Ward and Shane Donath were in a tight battle for top-five spots.

A yellow flag would fly on lap 13 erasing the advantage Hile had built-up on the field. This put Witko, Vauter, Pat Ward who started twelfth and Billy Decker who started three spots behind Ward right with Hile for the restart.

When the green came back out, Ward got a great restart bolting from fourth to second and then setting his sights on Hile for the lead. It took ward to just 2 laps to work his way under and by Hile to be shown as the new leader on lap 15.

With 10 laps to go it was down to a battle of teammates between Ward and Decker as they were the fastest two cars on the speedway, while behind them great racing was going on for top finishes.

Over the last 10 laps Decker threw everything he had at Ward using the top and bottom of the speedway but to no avail. Ward’s car was working perfect on the bottom as he beat Decker to the checkers by 1.161 seconds. Last week’s feature winner Tom Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer and Dan Vauter finished third through fifth.

After parking his Gypsum Express/Gypsum Wholesalers/ Stadium International Trucks/ No. 42p/Bicknell in victory lane, Pat Ward talked about his victory.

“The crew has been working hard, it’s been getting better and better every week. I felt like I gave one away last night (Brewerton Speedway) I got into Ryan and broke my right rear shock. We were good last night, we’ve been good for three, four weeks. This Gypsum Car has been on rail.

Ward then talked about his pass for the lead and the win using the bottom of the speedway while most everyone else was using the top.

“I saw Billy (Decker) in second. I just didn’t even slow down, I didn’t know if he could keep up. I wasn’t letting him get by again tonight.”

“I knew I was really good, I just left the gear in with the brown off the bottom. If you could get in straight on the bottom you got some really good side bite. If you got in to hard you just sat there spinning. We had the brakes dialed in perfect so you could get in on the bottom. I didn’t know what we had at the start, but once the race got going I knew I had something for them.”

Katelyn Kane was dominate in the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature. The only real threat to Kane’s lead was on restarts, but after a lap or two Kane’s was able to pull away each time and go onto the popular victory. Joe Kilne, Justin Thompson, Rick Rogala and Jim Spano finished second through fifth. Jordan Bennett, Beth Schneider, Tony Finch II, Rocco Leone and Ron Davis III completed the top-ten.

Rick Miller would lead the opening 3 laps in the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature before Larry Wight took over the lead on lap 4. For the next 16 laps it was a two-car battle between Wight and Johnny Hill for the win. Hill could get to within a car length or two of Wight. Wight was to strong as he was the first under the checkers over Hill. A.J Kingsley, Sean Beardsley and Alan Fink finished third through fifth.

In the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature , Chris Hulsizer grabbed win number three of the season. Corey Barker, Kyle Fink, Dan Keyes and Gary Hoppins finished second through fifth.

Skip DeGroff, Eric M Zirbel and Mark Johnston put on a great race in the 12 lap Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stock feature. John West and Chad Dupra finished fourth and fifth.

This coming Saturday, September 1st it will be Championship Night at the Fulton Speedway as it will be the final points night of the 2012 season. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:00 with the first green flag to wave at 7:00. Adult admission is $12 with everyone 18 yrs old and younger FREE.

Tickets, camping permits and everything else you might need for the 27th Annual Sunoco Fulton Ethanol Facility Outlaw 200 Weekend presented by SUNY Canton September 28-29 is now available by going to Or call 315- 593-6531.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) –  PAT WARD, Billy Decker, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Hulsizer, Dan Vauter, Jim Witko Jr., Matt Fink, Ryan Phelps, Chuck Bower, Mike Bowman, Chris Hile, Mike Mahaney, John Juhl, Roy Shields, Joe August Jr., Tim Sears Jr., Todd Milton, Shane Donath, Larry Wight, Chad Phelps, Mike Ward.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – KATELYN KANE, Joe Kline, Justin Thompson, Rick Rogala, Jim Spano, Jordan Bennett, Beth Schneider, Tony Finch II, Rocco Leone, Ron Davis III, Greg Kimball, Scott Ford, Tim Schneider, Tom Juhl, Matt Emmons, Kris VanNorstrand, Sean McCarthy, Justin Lindsey, Jeremy Pitcher, Andrew Ferguson, Nick Krause, Bob Bennett, Bucky Hayes, Tom Cook, Mike Button, Greg Mrzywka.

(NAPA LATE MODELS  15 LAPS) – LARRY WIGHT, Johnny Hill, AJ Kingsley, Sean Beardsley, Alan Fink, Tim Sears Jr., Rick Miller, Ricky Breed, Dustin Hanlon, Rob Mason, Shayne Tenace, Dave Talbot.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – CHRIS HULSIZER, Corey Barker, Kyle Fink, Dan Keyes, Gary Hoppins, Brandon Ford, Bailey Groves, Rocky Grasso, Kevin VanNorstrand, Rick Rupert, Hilary Ward, Taylor Lamb.

( PARTS PLUS FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 12 LAPS) –  SKIP DEGROFF, Eric M Zirbel, Mark Johnston, John West, Chad Dupra, Irene Skillinski.