Pat Ward Out Runs Tough Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Field At Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler
FULTON, NY – Crowd favorite Pat Ward out of Genoa, New York said after Saturday nights Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature, that the young guys are getting tougher and tougher to beat on a weekly basis with their equipment and talent.

When the checkers flew at the end of 35 laps, Ward showed he has no signs of slowing down anytime soon as he parked his Gypsum Express, Stadium International Trucks/LJL Kevlar Race Engines/ Bicknell/No.42p in victory lane. Ward took the lead on lap 20 from Matt Hulsizer and never looked back in the caution free feature.

Other winners on WOLF 105.1 New Country, Girl Scouts, Capital Home Improvements, and McDonalds Family Fun Night were, Andrew Ferguson, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Tim Sears Jr., NAPA Late Models, Kris Van Norstrand, Jerry Herbert, Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks and Mike Mullen, Mod Lites.

Chris Hile and Matt Hulsizer led the power packed Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified down to the green with Hulsizer jumping out to the early advantage.

With 10 laps complete, Hulsizer and Ward were setting a fast pace at the front of the pack as they started to catch the back of field. Behind the top-two, Hile, Matt Fink and Chad Phelps showed in the top-five.

By lap 15, Hulsizer and Ward were a straightaway out front fighting for lead, while Hile, Fink, Phelps and now Larry Wight battled for third through sixth.

On lap 20 and in heavy traffic, Hulsizer moved slightly off the top groove in three and four he had been running to get around a back maker. That allowed Ward just enough room exiting turn four to be scored the new leader of the race.

With 10 laps to go, Ward opened a ten car length advantage over Hulsizer.Hile, Chad Phelps and Fink showed in the top-five.

With no yellows the rest of the way to bunch the field up, Ward cruised under the checkers for the win. Matt Hulsizer, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps and Mike Bowman rounded out the top-five. Larry Wight, Roy Bresnahan, Billy Decker, Ryan Phelps and Tom Sears Jr. completed the top-ten.

“It feels good; we’ve been struggling all year with the big block car. We keep changing and changing, getting the motor tuned good, the car tuned good, the crew has been working super hard,” Ward said after his win.

“We started up front, with the quality field of cars we’ve been running against. These young guys have been stepping up their program making it tough on us old fellows.

Ward talked about his winning pass for the lead on lap 20.

“He (Matt Hulsizer) was running a real good line. I think he anticipated a lapped car and cut down a little too early to go under him. That gave me the opportunity to go up top; he made it tight there, which I don’t blame him. Luckily I got by him, He’s going to get a win here soon”

In the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature, Andrew Ferguson led the opening 7 laps before Greg Kimball was able to work his way Ferguson on lap 8. Kimball and Ferguson ran nose to tail and side by side fighting for the lead before Ferguson retook the lead at the halfway point.

Once back out front, Ferguson was able to hold off the rest of the field and he crusied under the checkers first. Katelyn Kane, Jim Spano, Tom Juhl Jr. and Beth Schneider rounded out the top-five.

After a post race inspection, Andrew Ferguson was fined all points and money for a technical infraction.

In the NAPA Late Model main, Tim Sears Jr. grabbed the lead at the drop of the green and then lead the entire distance picking up the win. Jason Parkhurst and Larry Wight had a tight battle throughout with Parkhurst coming home second, with Wight third,Chris Hile and Steven Coit rounded out the top-five.

Kris Van Norstrand led in the early going before losing the top spot to Dan Keyes on lap 4. Van Norstrand fought back, retaking with two laps to go and the win in the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature. Dan Keyes, Brandon Ford, Gary Hoppins and Nick Krause chased Van Norstrand across the line.

Joe Isabell and Mike Mullen put on a show in the 15 lap Mod Lite feature that saw Mullen beating Isabell in a photo finish at the checkers. Jeffrey Isabell, Sam Usborne and Lowell Zehr finished third through fifth.

After a post race inspection, Mike Mullen was fined all points and money for a technical infraction.

In the Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks, defending track champion Jeff Herbert put another victory in his win column after the 15 lap feature. Keith Zirbel, Colby Herzog, Mark Johnston and Matt Dawson rounded out the top-five.

This coming Saturday, May 19th thanks to Industrial Tire Of CNY the SUNY Canton Sportsman take center stage as they will be racing for $1,000 to win.

Also on the race card on Syracuse Haulers Night will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks and the Mod Lites.

Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstand.

Any questions about the upcoming season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] for all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – PAT WARD, Matt Hulsizer, Chris Hile, Chad Phelps, Mike Bowman, Larry Wight, Roy Bresnahan, Billy Decker, Ryan Phelps, Tom Sears Jr., Matt Fink, Willy Decker, Jim Witko Jr., Mike Mahaney, Tim Sears Jr., Chuck Bower, Dan Vauter, Joe August Kr., Adam Roberts, Shane Donath, John Juhl, Tim Harris.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – *ANDREW FERGUSON*, Katelyn Kane, Jim Spano, Tom Juhl Jr., Beth Schneider, Tony Finch II, Jordan Bennett, Tim Schneider, Ron Davis III, Earl Rudy, Sean McCarthy, Scott Ford, Rocco Leone, Joe Kline, Bob Reis, Matthew Parkhurst, Dave Emmons, Matt Emmons, Greg Kimball, Bob Bennett, Jeremy Pitcher, Jason Occhino, Greg Mrzywka, Doug Cook. (* Fined All Points And Money For Technical Infraction* )

(NAPA LATE MODELS 15 LAPS) – TIM SEARS JR., Jason Parkhurst, Larry Wight, Chris Hile, Steven Coit, Dave Talbot, Rick Miller.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – KRIS VAN NORSTRAND, Dan Keyes, Brandon Ford, Gary Hoppins, Nick Krause, Kyle Fink, Hilary Ward, Mike Reilly, Joe Emmons, Corey Baker, Derek Warren.

(MOD LITES 15 LAPS) – *MIKE MULLEN*, Joe Isabell, Jeffrey Isabell, Sam Usborne, Lowell Zehr, Nick Graziano, Gary Jeffries, Jim Bogett, Josh DeSantis, Doug Williams, Sterling Miller, Jeremy Isabell, Rick Demo. (* Fined All Points And Money For Technical Infraction *)

(PARTS PLUS FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – JERRY HERBERT, Keith Zirbel, Colby Herzog, Mark Johnston, Matt Dawson, Eric M Zirbel, Kevin Hendrix, David Baker, Skip DeGroff, Les Baker.