Phelps Wins at Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler

FULTON,NY June 19, 2010 – Jimmy Phelps out of Baldwinsville, NY remains red-hot in the DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds as Phelps backed up his win Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway with a last lap pass to win Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway. Phelps drove under Chuck Bower exiting turn four to go on to the exciting win.

Other winners on SUNY Canton I.D night were, Rich Townsend SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman and Dale Caswell in the NAPA Late Models. Rain moved over the speedway forcing officials to put the E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Gladiator features first on the card this coming Saturday night June, 26th.

Mike Mahaney and Mike Bowman led the 26 car starting field down to the green with Mahaney gaining the early advantage in the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified feature.

With 5 laps showing on the lap counter, Mahaney had a narrow two-car advantage over Michael Storms, Chuck Bower ran alone in third with Bowman and Pat Ward showing in the top-five.

On lap 10, Mahaney and Storms ran nose to tail as Bower started moving in on the top-two, Bowman and Ward still ran fourth and fifth.

The caution would fly on lap 15 when Tom Sears came to a stop on the back straight. On the restart Storms took advantage of the outside as he blasted by Mahaney to be scored the new leader.

At the halfway point Storms built up a half a straightaway lead, Bower, Matt Sheppard, Mahaney and Ward tried to close the gap on Storms.

With 10 laps to go Storms, Bower and Sheppard came three-wide across the line with Bower being shown as the new leader by inches.

On lap 29 Sheppard grabbed the top spot, his lead would be short lived as he dashed to the pits under a yellow on lap 30 ending his shot at the win.

With 2 laps to go Phelps moved into second and took off after Bower. Bower and Phelps would run side by side with Phelps being able to drive into the lead exiting turn four off the bottom as they came down to the white flag. Phelps would take the win by 0.638 seconds. Pat Ward, Billy Decker, Chuck Bower and Michael Storms rounded out the top-five.

With his fifth place finish Michael Storms earned the Dig Safely New York $500 Bonus Bucks Merchandise Award from Motorsports Safety Systems.

“I’m tickled pink how great this car is. I thought maybe we hurt it, I got into the fence on that last restart,” Jimmy Phelps bounced his J&B Installations 99j Troyer hard off the front straight wall with a handful of laps left in the feature. “The brakes went totally to the floor, but fortunately the car stuck in the corners and we didn’t need a whole lot of brake. Troyer has some good stuff going on; we have great support from a lot of people.”

Phelps now leads both the Brewerton Speedway and Fulton Speedway Big Block Modified point standings as he keeps racking up wins. “This car just doesn’t fade. It’s not lightning fast right out of the box, the tires start getting hot and the car is still there, that’s what we have been missing over the years.”

Bob Bennett would lead the opening 13 laps of the 20 lap SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman feature holding off Katelyn Kane. Rich Townsend would take advantage of contact between Bennett and Kane to take the lead on lap 14 using the cushion to get by Bennett. Once in the lead Townsend would hold off Kane and Beth Schneider to score his first ever SUNY Canton Sportsman win. Jordan Bennett and Greg Kimball finished fourth and fifth.

Alan Fink would lead the opening lap of the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature before AJ Kingsley took over the top spot on lap two. Dale Caswell would grab the lead from Kingsley on lap 9, once in the lead nobody would seriously challenge Caswell the rest of the way. For Caswell it was his third win in two nights as he won the IMCA Modified and NAPA Late Model features Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway. Tim Devendorf, Gus Schmidt, Chuck Meyer and Joe Gwilt rounded out the top-five.

Seventeen NAPA Late Models signed into the Fulton pits as their numbers continue to grow in the new class.

This coming Tuesday June, 22 at the Brewerton Speedway, it will be the return of the World Of Outlaws Late Model Dirt Demon 50 presented by NAPA. Also on the card will be the Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites. Advance sale tickets for the 2nd Annual Dirt Demon 50 are now on sale. Reserved seats in the top three rows of Sections A-P will be priced at $35. Adult general admission tickets will sell for $30 each. Children ages 14 and under tickets will be available for just $10. All pit passes will be priced at $40. Pit passes will only be sold when gates open on race day. No blankets will be allowed down in the grandstand until gates open at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps will start at 6:20 p.m. Late Model time trials will follow at 6:40 p.m. Show time is 7:30 p.m.

Fulton Speedway will be back in action this Saturday night June, 26 as Burkes Do-It-Best Home Centers present Novelis Can Collection night. First up will be the rain delayed E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Galdiator features, followed by a complete program of DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Gladiators and Mod Lites. Gates open at 5:00 p.m. with racing at 7:00 p.m. Adult grandstand admission is $12 with everyone 18 years and younger admitted free grandstand admission.

For more information please go on line to The track phone number is 315-593-6531 with the race line reached at 668-RACE. The track is located at 1603 County Route 57 in Fulton, NY. Free parking and overnight camping is offered for all regular season events.

DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps)-JIMMY PHELPS, Pat Ward, Billy Decker, Chuck Bower, Michael Storms, Ryan Phelps, Larry Wight, Mike Bowman, Rich Scagliotta, Alan Johnson, Jim Witko, Dale Planck, Adam Roberts, Chad Phelps, Shawn Donath, Johnny Hill, Matt Sheppard, Brian Murphy, Mike Mahaney, Tom Sears, Harry Murphy, Chris Hile, Roy Bresnahan, Tim Harris, Roy Shields, and Willy Decker.

(SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman 20 Laps) – RICH TOWNSEND, Katelyn Kane, Beth Schneider, Jordan Bennett, Gregg Kimball, Jon Tesoriero, Dave Emmons, Jeremy Pitcher, Sammy Reakes IV, Billy Clark, Mark Olmstead, Jason Parkhurst, Dave Cool, Tom Juhl, Matt Hulsizer, Gregg Carner, Jason Occhino, Ryan Jordan, Bob Bennett, Tim Sears Jr., Bob Holland, Matthew Parkhurst, and Tim Schneider.

(NAPA Late Models 20 Laps) -DALE CASWELL, Tim Devendorf, Gus Schmidt, Chuck Meyer, Joe Gwilt, Dave Talbot, Harry Halliday, Jessica McClellan, Larry Wight, Alan Fink, AJ Kingsley, Lee Gill, Brandon Kidd, Joe August Jr., Shayne Tenace, and Gordy Button.