Players Announce ‘Freedom’ Cast

OSWEGO – Rick Sivers, playwright and director of the new play, “Dawn of Freedom,” has announced the cast for the play.

“Dawn of Freedom” is a joint project of the Oswego Players and the Safe Haven Museum and will have its world premiere in the Frances Marion Brown Theater in the Oswego Civic Arts Center on Oct. 8 and 9.

Included in the cast are Jeffery Cole, Marilyn Dirk, Ken Snow, Pablo Mendoza, Bobby Fontana, Alexa Halstead, Kristie Pauldine, Brienna Pauldine, Noah Pauldine and Marianne Natoli.

The play chronicles the lives of some of the refugees at the Fort Ontario shelter.

Using their own words, the play reveals the highs and lows of emotions of the refugees at the time.

“I wanted to bring to the stage who the refugees were, bringing them to life, to see and hear them,” said Sivers. “So often all we do is read about people in history. Here we can see them come to life on the stage.”

“Dawn of Freedom” will be presented on Oct. 8 at 8 p.m. and Oct. 9 at 2 p.m.

Proceeds from the production will benefit the Safe Haven Museum.

Call the Players’ box office at 343-5138 for reservations.