Proud, Barbera Look to Close Rookie of the Year Titles During Race of Champions Weekend

OSWEGO, NY – With Sunoco Race of Champions Weekend finally beginning at Oswego Speedway, there is a championship within a championship to be decided this weekend in the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super and Novelis Supermodified divisions.

" data-medium-file="" data-large-file="" class="size-medium wp-image-153310" src="" alt="Camden Proud will become the Speedway's Small Block Super Rookie of the Year on Saturday at Oswego Speedway." width="300" height="180" srcset=" 300w, 150w, 460w, 497w, 1000w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Camden Proud will become the Speedway’s Small Block Super Rookie of the Year on Saturday at Oswego Speedway.

Fifteen-year-old Pathfinder Bank SBS rookie Camden Proud and Top Quality Construction owner and Novelis Supermodified driver Mike Barbera, will look to clinch Rookie of the Year titles this weekend in their respective divisions.

Behind the wheel of the Step One Creative No. 54 Small Block Super, Proud rides 12th in the overall driver standings with one top five finish and six top ten runs in 2014.

A former quarter midget driver, Proud has one qualifying heat race win this season as well, and is knocking on the door step of a top ten finish in the final driver standings.

Proud leads fellow Rookie of the Year candidate and Bud Light SBS Classic Rookie of the Race Jesse Bearup by 93.5 points, meaning all Proud has to do is fire up his No. 54 for warmups on Saturday to claim the title.

If all goes Proud’s way on Saturday he will join the likes of Bob Bond, Brian Sweeney, Chris Proud, Dan Kapuscinski, Dave Gruel, Kreig Heroth, Andrew Schartner, and Jeremy Pitcher as Small Block Super Rookies of the Year.

Proud would become the youngest Rookie of the Year title winner in the history of Oswego Speedway at 15-years-old.

Kapuscinski and Ryan Coleman each won the award at 16 years of age.

Wheeling the Top Quality Construction No. 45 Supermodified, Barbera will also lock up his Rookie of the Year title this Sunday.

Barbera will become the 47th different recipient of the Speedway’s Rookie of the Year award, after contending part-time this season, and qualifying for the Budweiser International Classic 200 in his first try.

Kapuscinski and current Novelis Supermodified championship contender Gruel are the only two drivers in Speedway history to win both the Small Block Super and Supermodified Rookie of the Year titles.

SUNOCO Race of Champions Weekend opens its racing program September 13 with grandstand gates opening at 3:30 p.m. The racing action will start at 5 p.m.

Sunday the action continues with grandstand gates opening at 10:15 a.m. and qualifying to hit the Speedway at noon.

The Sunoco Modified 200 is scheduled to take the green flag at 4:15 p.m. on September 14. The 75-lap Novelis Supermodified main will hit the Speedway prior to the 200 lap Modified nightcap.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or LIKE on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’

For more information on Race of Champions Weekend visit online at