Reakes Takes Fulton Feature Win, Earns Spot In Fulton 200

By Dave Medler

Sammy Reakes IV skipped the Mr DIRTcar Sportsman Series race at Genesee Speedway in favor of a run at the Fulton Speedway Saturday night. When the checkers flew on the 20 lap DIRTcar Sportsman Feature Reakes parked his Whittaker’s Trophy Sales No.17k Bicknell in Victory lane. More importantly than his win Reakes grabbed a starting spot for the Mr DIRTcar Sportsman Tour event Friday Night of the Fulton 200 weekend presented by SUNY Canton. The tour race at Fulton annually draws one of the biggest car counts on the tour.

Track Champion Tim Sears Jr., Bobby Holland, Shane Donath and Tom Juhl rounded out the top five in the Sportsman Feature.

A stellar field of DIRTcar Street Stocks showed up for a 20 lap feature trying to grab a spot for the Street Stock portion of the Fulton 200 weekend. Dick Parkhurst held off invaders and track regulars to pick up his second win of the 2009 season.

In the ESDCA Mod Lite Doug Cooper Memorial Tim Devendorf, Frank Sobotka and Lowell Zehr put on a 20 lap show for those in attendance Saturday night with the win in doubt till the checkers. Tim Devndorf parked his Haun Welding, Fleet Pride No.2 in victory lane.

Mark Johnston put an exclamation point to end his 2009 season picking up his fifth 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature win. Scott Kline, Matthew Parkhurst, Dave Emmons and Rich Riggs chased Johnston across the line.

Whenever Claude Hutchings Jr pulls through a pit gate with his 4-Cylinder Super Stock he’s a threat to win. Saturday night Hutchings did just that as he picked up yet another win in his No.84 Jr Saab.

On the final night for the Gladiators Skip DeGroff out ran the field for the win. Chris Bonoffski, Eric M Zirbel, Jon Shumway and Art Dupra rounded out the top-five.

The Fulton Speedway will now be silent as the staff gets the grounds ready for the 24th Annual Fulton 200 weekend. The pits gates will swing open Friday October 3rd at 3:00. On the card will be the 2010 Motorsports Expo Mr DIRTcar Sportsman Super DIRT Series, Racewear Empire State IMCA Modified Series, Top Stitch Embroidery Street Stock Championship plus Modified Hot Laps and Modified Quick Time Sessions.

Saturday October, 3rd will be the 24th Annual Fulton 200 Presnted by SUNY Canton. Pit Gates will open at 11 a.m, grandstands at noon. The Modified draw will be at 2:00 pm in front of the grandstands, Hot laps will start at 3:00 pm with the first heat race at 4:30. At Approx 7:30 will be the 24th Annual 200.

For all the information you will need please visit or call the speedway office at 315-593-6531.



SEPTEMBER 19, 2009

(DIRTcar Sportsman 20 laps) – Sammy Reakes IV, Timmy Sears Jr., Bobby Holland, Shane Donath Tom Juhl Jr., Alan Fink, Ben Wheeler, Billy Clark Jr., Jordan Bennett, Earl Rudy, Jeremy Pitcher, Katelyn Kane, Gregg Carner, Jon Tesoriero, Claude Hutchings Jr., Brett Buono, Rob Humphreys, Bob Buono, Stewart Garrison, Chuck DeMott, Sean McCarthy, Mike McCarthy, John Wilbur, Gregg Kimball, Daniel Sellen, Clayton Brewer III.

(DIRTcar Street Stocks 20 laps) – Dick Parkhurst, Pat Hobbs, Mike Welch, Chris Fisher, Dan Hofmann Sr., Chris Carr, Nick Rizzo, Steve Woodworth, Matt Henderson, Stan Clark, Preston Forbes, Joe Buske Jr., Frank Hyatt, Ray Smith, Clayton Parkhurst, Keith Stevenson, Dan Searles, Andy Fisk, Jow Buske, Dan Hofmann Jr.

(ESDCA Mod Lites Doug Cooper Memorial 20 laps) – Tim Devendorf, Frank Sobotka, Terry Lapham, Lowell Zehr, Jason Broedel, Dan Williams, Clayton Brewer III, Joe Garafolo, Gary Jeffries, Jim Tuttle, Rocco Leone, Doug Williams, Ron DeGroff, Scott Ford, Rich Rainville, Jeff Blackburn, Nick Graziano, Sam Usborne, Jeff Herbert, Ricky Yelle, Mike Virginia, Kelly Skinner, Lorrie Herbert, Matt Magner, Jamie King, Matt Rainville, Mike Bruce.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman 15 laps) – Mark Johnston, Scott Kline, Matthew Parkhurst, Dave Emmons, Rich Riggs, Joe Kline, Doug Gwilt, Dan Hill, Colton Donath.

(4-Cylinder Super Stocks) – Claude Hutchings Jr., Jim Money, Stephen Denton, Glen Erwin, Chuck Powelczyk, Matt Wetterer, Wendall Washington, Aron Backus, John Goldman, Ethan Halsey, Sam Carista, Bill Carista, Loren Rehead, Sam Curice, Michelle Britton, Lorraine Powelczyk, DNS Randy Knight.

(Gladiators) – Skip DeGroff, Chris Bonoffski, Eric M Zirbel, Jon Shumway, Art Dupra.