Region Named Natural Disaster Due to Drought; Local Farmers Can Apply for Help

Assemblyman Will Barclay said today (Aug. 31) he is pleased that the federal government designated Oswego and Onondaga counties as part of a natural disaster area due to the summer’s drought.

The designation will make farm operators eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency if certain requirements are met, including low-interest loans.

“So many farmers in the region have been impacted by the drought this year. The hot, dry temperatures has made the growing season especially difficult and many have experienced crop loss and other problems. I am pleased the federal government has recognized this drought as a disaster so farmers can apply for some assistance,” said Barclay.

It is recommended that farmers reach out to the local FSA offices to learn more and to seek guidance.

Oswego County resident farmers should call 315-963-7283 and Onondaga County farmers should call (315) 677-3552.

Farmers have eight months from the date of the disaster to apply for emergency loans.

In total, 24 counties in New York were designated as a natural disaster due to the drought.

Though Jefferson County is not currently listed as part of the drought disaster area, Sen. Patty Ritchie and Assemblyman Barclay are advocating for its inclusion.