Residents Can Bring Rechargeable Batteries to Retail Stores for Disposal

FULTON – Oswego County residents can now return rechargeable batteries to a retail store that sells the same product, under a new state law that took effect in December.

Frank Visser, Oswego County Solid Waste Director, said the law covers many types of rechargeable batteries, including nickel cadmium, sealed lead, lithium ion, nickel metal hydride and any other dry cell rechargeable batteries weighing less than 25 pounds.

The law requires battery collection by local retailers and direct sellers of rechargeable batteries including catalog, telephone, or internet sales. Retailers must also post signs alerting consumers about the disposal ban and the opportunities to return rechargeable batteries at their location.

“Rechargeable batteries from cordless power tools, laptops, telephones, cameras and other electronic devices are among a growing list of products New Yorkers can return to retailers for recycling at the end of its useful life,” said Visser.

The NYS Rechargeable Battery Recycling Act was signed into law by Governor Andrew Cuomo and is enforced by the state Department of Environmental Conservation.

“Since many rechargeable batteries contain toxic metals that can be released into the environment when managed improperly, this program is a good example of product stewardship among consumers, retailers and battery manufacturers,” DEC Commissioner Joe Martens said. “Valuable metals from rechargeable batteries can be recovered for reuse instead of ending up in the trash.”

Non-rechargeable batteries such as common alkaline batteries are accepted for recycling at the Oswego County recycling drop-off centers. Vehicle batteries are collected at the County’s household hazardous waste facility at Bristol Hill from May through September on Wednesdays from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Oswego County transfer stations and recycling drop-off centers are located at Bristol Hill, 3125 NYS Route 3, Volney; 1167 County Route 7, Hannibal; 1391 U.S. Route 11, Hastings; 700 E. Seneca St., Oswego; and 100 County Route 2A, Pulaski.

The transfer stations and recycling drop-off centers are open Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., and Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon. Sticker and punch card sales and weigh scales close ½-hour before the transfer stations close.

For more information, call the Department of Solid Waste at 591-9200, or visit

For more information on the New York State Rechargeable Battery Recycling Act, visit DEC’s Web site at: