Retiree in Spotlight at November Oswego School Board Meeting

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego City School District Board of Education met on November 13 at the Education Center.

Prior to regular voting action, the members of the board recognized the service of veteran Oswego High School Social Studies teacher Patricia Runeari.  She has served the educational needs of Oswego’s students for nearly three decades. The board accepted her retirement which will be effective on January 28, 2013.

In regular board action, a resolution regarding a change of policy or additional policies was on the agenda for the “first reading.”

Among the policies addressed by the board were concussion management; code of conduct on school property; civility, citizenship and character education-Interpersonal violence prevention education; appointments and designation by the board; dignity for all students; online banking, identification badges for employees.

The board also appointed Dignity Act Coordinators. The district wide DAC is Director of Security John Anderson while others include Dave Gryzka (Oswego High School), Chalet Dewey-Flint and Mary Beth Fierro (Oswego Middle School), Dean Goewey and Rachel Baker (Minetto), Linda Doty, Kathy Auyer and Sheena Hall (Charles E. Riley), Amy Orr and Becky James (Fitzhugh Park), Eileen Ensworth and Noel LaPoint (Kingsford Park), Sarah Dodd (Leighton) and Geoff Baer (The BUC).

In the area of personnel the board accepted the retirement of Runeari as well as her resignation as OHS Social Studies Team Leader and OHS Treasurer. Erin Platten also resigned as Communications Club Advisor as there was a lack of interest on the part of students to participate in the club. Renee Warren and Deborah Lavner were appointed as in-service instructors.

Gary Jones was appointed as the boys’ varsity tennis head coach while serving as the directing staff of the Oswego High School musical will be Robert Dumas (Music Director), Garrett Heater (Choral Director) and Susan Blumer (choreographer).

Leaves of absence were granted to bus drivers Joseph Scharf and Harry Bickford as well as teacher aide Diann Fultz.

Sarah Miller, a registered professional nurse, and teacher aid Deborah Miller were given permanent appointment to their positions. Tammy Martinez received a temporary appointment as a part time teacher aide. Several substitute and temporary employees were also approved.

Under finance the board approved a transfer of funds to cover travel expenses for a staff member to the OVQ Step Prevention Institute in Seattle as well as accepted an agreement with Big Picture Learning at a cost of $4,000. Approval was also given for service to students by the Kelberman Center.

The members of the board of education also adopted the budget calendar for the 2013-14 school year.

The board accepted several generous donations including a $500 MAC grant from McDonalds for the Oswego Middle School,  a $1,000 mini grant from the Oswego City-County Youth Bureau for Frederick Leighton Elementary School, two $25 gift cards from Target for Leighton and a $50 donation from Ontario Orchards for Leighton.

Approval was also given for Miss Kelly’s Dance Company to use school district facilities.

The next meeting for the board will involve committees as well as a regular session at 5 p.m. on December 4 at the Education Center.