Riley Sixth Grade Celebration Finishes Year

Submitted Article

OSWEGO, NY – Charles E. Riley sixth graders are moving on to Oswego Middle School.

The Nancy Egan Achievement Award was presented to Charles E. Riley Elementary School sixth grader Leighton Smith. CER Principal Dr. Randy Richards proudly presents the award to Smith.Recently, the students were recognized during moving up ceremonies and several were honored as a variety of awards were presented.

Leighton Smith was the fifteenth recipient of the Nancy Egan Achievement Award.

This award is presented to the sixth grade student who throughout their elementary career has demonstrated excellent work ethic, been involved in school activities, has demonstrated good citizenship, has displayed emotional and social well being and has proven to be an independent learner.

The “Triple C” Awards at the Charles E. Riley Elementary School were presented by David Bruce, from the New York State Attorney General’s Office, to Elizabeth Scott and Thomas Godfrey.David Bruce recognized two students with the Andrew M. Cuomo Triple C Award for “character, courage and commitment.” Liz Scott and Tom Godfrey were this year’s recipient of the State Attorney General’s award.

CER Principal Dr. Randy Richards proudly presented the Principal’s American Citizenship Award to recognize the students who consistently exhibits the kinds of behavior that should be displayed in schools and community.

Richards noted, “This is an award to students who show a positive attitude toward classmates, school and community and who displays an understanding and appreciation of civic responsibility and possesses strength of character and the courage to do what is right.”

Richards presented this year’s awards to Elizabeth O’Gorman and Zach Salvador.

This year Principal’s American Citizenship Award was presented by Charles E. Riley Principal Dr. Randy Richards to Elizabeth O’Gorman and Zachary Salvador.Richards presented the president’s Award for Academic Excellence to Paulina Alejandro, Erica Atkins, Alicia Baker, Alexander Baumgartner, Danielle Benigno, Kerrigan Cummins, Ryan Galvin, Holly Gilbert, Mallory Gordon, Cassandra Hondro, Elizabeth O’Gorman, Monica Randall, Zachary Salvador, Elizabeth Scott, Tara Stacy, Jhannine Verceles and Meggie Zhang.

This year’s recipients of the Presidential Award for Academic Achievement were Justin Abbott, John Aston, Shane Bowman, Alexander Carl, AnneMarie Dehm, Brandon Foley, Victoria Gardner, Thomas Godfrey, Sydney Knight, Drazen Schrecengost, Leighton Smith, Brendan Williams and Zachary Zerrahn.

The Charles E. Riley “Class of 2008” included Justin Abbott, Paulina Alejandro, John Aston, Erica Atkins, Alexander Babiak, Alicia Baker, Alexander Baumgartner, Austin Bell, Danielle Benigno, Shane Bowman, Jeffrey Brown Jr., John Bugow, Alexander Carl, Corwin Caster, Rebecca Castillo, Matthew Clemons, Morgan Cook, Kerrigan Cummins, AnneMarie Dehm, Alexis Dingman and Joshua Erkan.

Also moving on to Oswego Middle School were Brandon Foley, Olivia Frazier, Ryan Galvin, Victoria Gardner, Caitlin Geroux, Holly Gilbert, Thomas Godfrey, Kevin Gonzalez, Mallory Gordon, Mackenzie Harrington, Cassandra Hondro, Ariana Huber, Hunter Izyk, Alex Jermyn and Sydney Knight.

Others advancing were Samantha Manning, Bradley Molsberger, Isaac Noel, Trista Norris, Elizabeth O’Gorman, Monica Randall, Paul Reis, Felipe Rodriguez, Jacob Rodriguez, Dakota Sage, Zachary Salvador, Drazen Schrecengost, Elizabeth Scott, Leighton Smith, Samantha Smith, Tara Stacy, Katelynn Storto, Kyle Tonkin, Jhannine Verceles, Xavier Wadleigh, Brendan Williams, Lee Williams, Zachary Zerrahn and Meggie Zhang.

Another highlight of the ceremony was the dedication of the Charles E. Riley Elementary School yearbook to sixth grade teacher Antonia Brancato.