Ritchie Honors ‘Women of Distinction’

State Senator Patty Ritchie honored more than two dozen “Women of Distinction” from Central and Northern New York, including advocates, activists, teachers and change-makers, at a special ceremony Thursday at Watertown’s historic Flower Memorial Library.

" data-medium-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-300x143.jpg" data-large-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-460x219.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-143029" src="http://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-300x143.jpg" alt="Senator Ritchie is pictured with the 2014 Women of Distinction honorees." width="300" height="143" srcset="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-300x143.jpg 300w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-150x71.jpg 150w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-460x219.jpg 460w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”-500x238.jpg 500w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/RITCHIE-HONORS-“WOMEN-OF-DISTINCTION”.jpg 900w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Senator Ritchie is pictured with the 2014 Women of Distinction honorees.

“I’m always humbled by the actions and accomplishments of the women I recognize though the Women of Distinction program, and this year was no different” said Senator Ritchie. “This group truly gives new meaning to what it means to be a woman in today’s society. They’re bright, determined, selfless and most importantly, working to make a difference in the communities we live in.”

The Women of Distinction program honors women’s history in the Empire State by recognizing outstanding leaders and everyday citizens from the present who are making a difference.

This year’s honorees include the following:

Oswego County

Stacy Austin-Root

Jane Backus

Melissa Baker

Amanda Capeling

Norene Cook

Karrie Damm, LMFT

Sandy Delano

Carol Gazitano

Kelly Glasgow

Tracy Henry

Michelle Hughes

Maureen McClain

Melanie Proper

Denise Simmons

Roxanne Stuart

Reverend Brenda Weissenberg

Reverend Meredith Williams

Susan Witmer

Teresa Woolson

Jefferson County

Joanne Lazore

Cari McAvoy

JoAnn Reed

St. Lawrence County

Ilene Burke

Virginia Davey

Imogene Wager

Lila Youngs