Ritchie Secure Funds For High School Bands

State Senator Patty Ritchie has announced she has secured $51,000 in special funding to help support local high school marching bands throughout Jefferson, Oswego and St. Lawrence counties.

Included in the funding is $5,000 for Pulaski High School; aid which helped to make a trip to represent New York State in the National Fourth of July Parade in Washington D.C. possible.

Students, who spent a great deal of time recently fundraising for the trip, departed Thursday (July 3) morning for the event, which will take place on Friday.

“As a former high school band member myself, I know that activities like this help students build invaluable life skills and also allow them to further develop their musical talents,” said Senator Ritchie. “I’m pleased to be able to provide this funding, which will help ensure high school band programs continue, and in the case of the Pulaski Marching Band, will allow band members to make the trip to represent New York State at the National Fourth of July Parade in Washington D.C.”

“I must say that I am very surprised and incredibly humbled by this wonderful donation. In terms of what this means to the Oswego Marching Buccaneers is that it will help us in many areas,” Scott Ciesla, OHS Marching Band Director, told Oswego County Today. “It will help us in funding our trip to compete at the Navy-Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis, Md., this upcoming October.  More than anything this gift will allow us to continue to build the Honor, Pride, and Excellence that is expected of us as members of the outstanding community of Oswego.”

“A simple thank you is not enough. But, as the Director of the Marching Buccaneers, I sincerely say thank you to Senator Ritchie for advocating and supporting local music programs. It means more than you’ll ever know! Thank you again!”

Marching bands in the following school districts will be receiving funding:

Oswego County

Pulaski Academy and Central School District: $5,000

Oswego City School District: $5,000

Jefferson County

General Brown Central School District: $5,000

St. Lawrence County

Heuvelton Central School District: $4,000

Edwards-Knox Central School District: $4,000

Lisbon Central School District: $4,000

Hermon-DeKalb Central School District: $4,000

Madrid-Waddington Central School District: $4,000

Morristown Central School District: $4,000

Canton Central School District: $4,000

Massena Central School District: $4,000

Gouverneur Central School District: $4,000