Ritchie to honor CNY, NNY ‘Women of Distinction’ at Watertown Ceremony

State Senator Patty Ritchie will honor 16 Central and Northern New York women who were nominated for the New York State Senate’s “Women of Distinction” program at a special event, taking place in Watertown on Thursday at the Flower Memorial Library at 6 p.m.

The annual event honors women’s history in the Empire State by recognizing outstanding leaders and everyday citizens from the present who are making a difference.

The following nominees will be recognized:

Oswego County

Jody Fiorini

Nancy Fox

Dr. Gayanna Gilbraith

Jacqueline (Jackie) Gregg

Sandy Mensch

Sandy Sakonyi

Melanie Trexler

Jeanne Unger

Jefferson County

Daryl (Dee) Brown

Judy Goodman

Mary Louise Hunt

St. Lawrence County

Dr. Kiri Brandy

Dr. Kelly Chezum

Rose Edward

Laurel Lee Roethel

Rhonda Lyn Roethel

Thursday, one of the above nominees will be announced as the 48th Senate District’s “Woman of Distinction” and in May, will travel to Albany to be honored at a special reception at the State Capitol.

Their photo and biography will also become part of a display that travels across the state to bring attention to the achievements of distinctive New Yorkers.

To learn more about the New York State Senate’s Women of Distinction program, please visit www.ritchie.nysenate.gov