Roy Bresnahan Pulls off Huge Win Running His GM CT 525 Spec Engine Taking Top Honors In The Big Block Modifieds At Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler

FULTON, NY – Back at the start of 2011 Brewerton and Fulton Speedway owner John Wight introduced the GM CT 525 Spec engine as he believed there was a need for a lower cost race engine as a cheaper alternative to Big Block Modified racing. At a cost of $ 7,100 with all the add-ons to go dirt racing it was put together for around 11 grand race ready.

Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway Roy Bresnahan proved not only could this engine be competitive, but it could win against Big Block Modified engines costing two to three times as much being driven by some of the best drivers in the Northeast.

Bresnahan took the lead at the drop of the green in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature and drove a flawless race out distancing Jimmy Phelps to the checkers. Not only was it Bresnahan’s first win in the division, but it was the first win for the GM CT 525 Spec engine against the Big Block Modifieds.

Other winners on SUNOCO Ethanol Facility, Burkes Do-It-Best Centers and Family Autograph Night were, Jordan Bennett SUNY Canton Sportsman, Tim Sears Jr. NAPA Late Models, Ron Davis III E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Doug Williams Mod Lites and Skip DeGroff Four Cylinder Stocks.

Roy Bresnahan out ran Mike Ward and the rest of the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified field to lead the opening lap of the 35 lap feature on the Fulton “High Banks”.

With 10 laps complete Bresnahan was setting a quick pace out front a straightaway ahead of Steve Hulsizer, as Ward, Chris Hile and Jimmy Phelps who started 10th showed in the top-five.

On lap 15 the yellow would fly for a slowing Chuck Bower erasing the lead Bresnahan Built up. Those in attendance wondered if this could the point in the race where the Big Block power would take over. On the restart Bresnahan once again went to the top of the speedway and started building-up another comfortable advantage over the field.

When the lap counter showed 10 laps to go, Bresnahan was back to a full straightaway lead as Hulsizer and Phelps battled for 2nd with Hile and Ryan Phelps showing in the top-five.

When the starter gave the field the five-to-go sign Phelps had moved into 2nd and was a tick quicker on the clock than the leader but did he have enough time to run down the leader and a shot at the win.

Over the remaining laps Bresnahan hit his marks on the top of the speedway as his lap times stayed consistent as he was the first under the checkers a full 3.206 seconds ahead of Jimmy Phelps for the dominating win. Ryan Phelps, Alan Johnson and Steve Hulsizer rounded out the top-five.

“I’ve been struggling a little bit trying to come from the back, but the car has been working good for me though,” Said Bresnahan after exiting his RJ’s Excavating, Gypsum Express,Micky Novak General Contracting, No.02 Bicknell.

“I have stuck with the 525 and we’re here and it proves to the guys that it can get it done. I have never had a race car that handled that good. It was pretty much one handed all the way around.”

Bresnahan related that the only real problems he had was on the restarts as the car started pushing on him, but it came back around once he got heat in the right rear again.

Matt Emmons led the first 8 laps of the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature before Greg Mrzywka took over the lead and Jordan Bennett moved into 2nd place. Bennett hounded Mrzywka for two laps before he used an outside move to drive into the lead.

Over the second half of the race nobody really challenged Bennett as he went onto to his first win of the year and maintained his 2nd place in the point standings. Greg Mrzywka, Jeremy Pitcher, Katelyn Kane and Michael Teachout rounded out the top-five.

Tim Sears Jr. was the class of the field in the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature. Sears grabbed the lead from Sean Beardsley on lap 6 and went on to his 5th win of the year. Larry Wight, Sean Beardsley, AJ Kingsley and Dale Caswell chased Sears across the line.

Ron Davis III passed early race leader Kyle DeMetro on lap 6 and never looked back winning the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman main. Kyle DeMetro, Tony Finch II, Scott Ford and Dustin Hanlon rounded out the top-five.

Skip DeGroff picked up his first win of 2011 season in the Four Cylinder Stocks as he out distanced Colby Herzog, David Baker, Jeff Warner and Jerry Herbert for the popular win.

Doug Williams took the lead on lap 3 of the 12 lap Mod Lite feature. Once out front Williams dominated the rest of the way over, Joe Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Rick Demo, Sam Usborne, Justin Williams and Josh Prentice.

Next Saturday night July 30th Stadium International Truck and Dig Safely New York promo night present Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Stocks.

Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstands.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – ROY BRESNAHAN, Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Phelps, Alan Johnson, Steve Hulsizer, Chris Hile Billy Decker, Jim Witko Jr., Tom Sears Jr., Larry Wight, Mike Bowman, Mike Mahaney, Matt Fink, Mike Ward, Matt Hulsizer, Chuck Bower, Johnny Hill, Shayne Donath, Tim Harris, Chad Phelps, Pat Ward.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – JORDAN BENNETT, Greg Mrzywka, Jeremy Pitcher, Katelyn Kane, Michael Teachout, Billy Clark Jr., Matt Emmons, Sean McCarthy, Gregg Carner, Greg Kimball, Joe Kline, Doug Cook, Stewart Garrison, Ricky Donovan, Josh Blackwell, Tim Schneider, Andrew Ferguson, Christine Martin, Dave Emmons, Bob Henry Jr..

(NAPA LATE MODELS 20 LAPS) – TIM SEARS JR., Larry Wight, Sean Beardsley, AJ Kingsley, Dale Caswell, Tom Juhl, Gus Schmidt, Jim Southard, Mike Vaughn, Steven Coit, Alan Fink, Bodie Bellinger, Shayne Tenace, Gordy Button, Scott Fowler.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – RON DAVIS III, Kyle DeMetro, Tony Finch II, Scott Ford, Dustin Hanlon, Devan Boyce, Jim Graham, Bailey Groves, DNS CJ Castelletti.

(FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – SKIP DEGROFF, Colby Herzog, David Baker, Jeff Warner, Jerry Herbert, Dan Dupra, Eric M Zirbel, Josh Zirbel, Mark Johnston, Keith Zirbel.

(MOD LITES 12 LAPS) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Joe Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Rick Demo, Sam Usborne, Justin Williams, Josh Prentice.