Roy Rockets to 3rd Straight Airborne Win

* Airborne Press *

Photo – Dave Brown

South Plattsburgh, NY – Nobody takes it higher and deeper into the third turn at Airborne Speedway than DIRTcar Modified point leader Martin Roy. The Napierville, Quebec driver of the Gamache Trucking No.90 used up some right rear tires with the maneuver earlier in the season, but adjustments have now landed him three consecutive victories. He holds a 16-point lead over defending champion Patrick Dupree with two point races remaining.

Dupree, who started alongside Roy in the sixth row of a 28-car field, got a crack at the winner when the yellow came out with two laps to go, but he couldn’t stay with him when the green was thrown. He closed to Roy’s bumper at the end, but had to settle for second.

Feature winner Martin Roy (90) heads to the front around Pat McGrail (10)

“My car was too loose, just too loose,” Dupree said. “I couldn’t get to him.” Roy took the lead from early pacesetter Greg Atkins on lap 17 after a red flag for Kris Vernold’s machine. Vernold had just yielded second place to Roy when he hit the tractor tire barrier at the bottom of turn two, broke a spindle and shot off the top of turn two.

Dupree sat fourth on the restart, quickly passed Andy Heywood to advance to third and then shot under Atkins for second three laps later.

George Foley improved to fourth behind Atkins in the closing laps. Heywood recorded his fourth top-5 finish of the season. Positions 6-10 went to Pat McGrail, Leon Gonyo, Aaron Bartemy, Vince Quenneville and Richard Tisseur.

Jamy Begor made the best of some good fortune to secure his first J&S Steel Sportsman win of the season in the Connor Sand Pit/Begor’s Supply No.19. Begor was running fourth when 15-year-old Brandon Atkins’ best race of the season came apart with four laps remaining. Atkins had stayed in the outside lane after finally clearing Shawn Duquette at the front of the field after the pair had raced side by side, swapping the lead for eight circuits.

His Northfield Utilities No. 4 got turned around by Howard Stoner, who had just overtaken Duquette for second place. Both cars were sent to the rear. That set the stage for Begor to take over and win by four car-lengths over Bucko Branham. Branham beat Duquette to the line by two feet. Robin Wood was a close fourth, followed by Nick Heywood, Travis Bruno, Jamie Atkins and Danny Sulllivan.

“I tried to be in whatever lane was going forward,” Begor said. “The preferred line was the outside. It feels really good to get the win. It’s been a while for me.”

Rick Doner of Ausable Forks, the former Mini Modified champion, won a Renegade thriller in a photo finish, besting Joe Warren of West Chazy. Point leader Kevin Boutin was a few feet away in third. Lance Rabtoy and Josh Terry completed the top five. It was Doner’s first career win in the Renegade division.

Jason Durivage of West Chazy won the Busch Bomber 25-lap special. Johnmichael Bresette and Dale O’Neil placed second and third.

Mini Modified point leader Speedy Bresette denied Erick Sayles’ bid for his sixth win by beating him to the wire for his first win of the season. Kris Clark was third. Josh Laporte and Jamie LaFountain were next in line.

The Modifieds will go topless (no roofs) on the progressively-banked Airborne half-mile Saturday, August 27 for the Dick Nephew Memorial presented by Liquor & Wine Warehouse. Also on tap, the make-up of the Versatile Trailer Sales Renegade 50 that was rained out in June.

Modified results: 1. Martin Roy, 2. Patrick Dupree, 3. Greg Atkins, 4. George Foley, 5. Andy Heywood, 6. Pat McGrail, 7. Leon Gonyo, 8. Aaron Bartemy, 9. Vince Quenneville, 10.Richard Tisseur, 11.Mike Reyell, 12.Andy Powell, 13.Maxime Viens, 14.Chris Cayea, 15.Mike Wells, 16.Mike Phinney, 17.Dan Brown, 18.Matt Woodruff, 19.Mikael Labreche, 20.Jimmy Ryan, 21.Roger Labreche, 22.Colleen Salisbury, 23.Adam Bartemy, 24.Kris Vernold, 25.Jim McComb, 26.Craig Reyell, 27.Pierre Berthiaume, 28.Bryant Trim DNS

For more information, contact: Tom Herzog (802) 882-8131