Ryan Smith Receives Paul Santore Award

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego County Legislature’s Human Services Committee recently recognized Ryan Smith with the 2015 “Paul Santore Award for Outstanding Youth.”

Ryan Smith honored
Ryan Smith honored

Smith has been a member of the AmeriCorps and Oswego City Youth Court programs, serving the latter for the past four years and completing more than 20 cases and 70 hours of community service.

He was active in theatre, choir, communications and the OHS Acceptance Coalition throughout his high school career.

He also served as a photographer and class treasurer.

A dedicated youth leader and citizen, Smith is an inspiring example of celebrating life through service to others.

Pictured from left are legislators Shawn Doyle, District 3; Committee Vice Chairman Daniel LeClair, District 8; Stephen M. Walpole, District 14; Committee Chairman Shane Broadwell, District 17; Smith; Brian Chetney, executive director Oswego City-County Youth Bureau; John Proud, District 7; Marie C. Schadt, District 19; and Douglas Malone, District 20.