Sandy Creek Central School District Wall of Distinction Inductees

The Sandy Creek Central School District is proud to announce the names of 2013 Wall of Distinction Inductees.

Throughout their lives, these extraordinary people have shown a high level of professionalism, distinction, and sufficient moral character as to represent a positive role model to students in the school district.

The inductees include:

Evan McLean Tanner, Class of 1992
Evan lives in Waldorf, Maryland. He is a veteran and past Army Ranger. Evan presently is a Radio Operated Vehicle Pilot/Navigator and Sonar Operator for Phoenix International.

Mary Clerkin Higgins, Class of 1972
Mary lives in New York City where she is one of the nation’s leading artists and conservators of stained glass. She has written many articles and is an international lecturer. She has done stained glass work throughout the world.

Maurice Sheldon Prescott, Class of 1910
Maurice is a graduate of Cornell University. He was the Publisher/Editor of the magazine, Holstein-Friesian World. Maurice was a local community leader, school board member for 21 years, Mayor of Lacona, director of the Lacona Bank and a 50-year member of the Sandy Creek Masonic Lodge.

Dr. Julie Towles Matthews, Class of 1988
Dr. Matthews lives in Gibsonville, North Carolina. She has a Doctor of Dentistry and specializes in Prosthodontics. She has published articles and has received many awards and honors.

A special ceremony will be held to honor this year’s inductees on June 21 at the High School beginning at approximately 5:15 p.m. The public is invited to attend to help honor this year’s Wall of Distinction members.