Saturday Weather Improves, Oswego Supermodified Kickoff a Go

OSWEGO, NY – Oswego Speedway and Supermodified fans rejoice.  Saturday’s weather forecast for the Port City of Oswego has dramatically improved, showing all potential rains to be out of the area by late morning, giving a full green light for the 53rd annual Novelis Supermodified Kickoff on May 10 at the ‘Steel Palace.’

Davey Hamilton is the defending champion of Oswego Speedway's Novelis Supermodified Kickoff event driving the John Nicotra No. 6 Supermodified.
Davey Hamilton is the defending champion of Oswego Speedway’s Novelis Supermodified Kickoff event driving the John Nicotra No. 6 Supermodified.

A full field of over 24 Novelis Supermodifieds is expected to pull through the Speedway’s main gate on Saturday looking to land in Turning Stone Resort Casino Victory Lane, including defending champion Davey Hamilton.

Hamilton, known as a part-time invader of the Speedway, will again be driving the Nicotra Racing No. 6 Supermodified, but will have to deal with a host of top notch Supermodified shoes to gain the victory.

Teammate Otto Sitterly, Pat Lavery, Joe Gosek, Dave Gruel, Bob Bond, Shaun Gosselin, Randy Ritskes, Dave Danzer, and others will be chomping at the bit to join a heralded list of opening night winners at the Speedway.

Among those trying to chase down history will be the Graham Racing stable of Ray Graham, Joey Payne, and Jessica Zemken.

In all, including the A-Modified days at the Speedway, 35 different drivers have won the Speedway showcase opening night.

Jim Shampine leads all drivers with seven opening night wins coming from 1971-1976 and again in 1979. Bentley Warren is second on the list with five wins in 1980, 1986, 1987, 1989, and 1994.

Of all active drivers Joe Gosek is tops on the list of opening night victories with triumphs in 1988, 1991, 2005, and 2007.

Today’s grand champion, Otto Sitterly, joins Gosek with four victories to open the season in 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012. Each year Sitterly won on opening night, he also went on to win the Speedway’s championship.

The opening night win list is a who’s who of champions from Shampine, Warren, Gosek, and Ordway; to Swift, Bellinger, Abold, and Muldoon.

Other active drivers expected to be in action Saturday night that have won opening night mains are Ritskes, Graham, and Hamilton.

The 53rd annual Novelis Supermodified Kickoff presented by Mitchell’s Speedway Press and Planet Fitness will feature a 50-lap main event for Oswego’s showcase division as well as the season opener for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super division.

Saturday night will mark the first opportunity for race fans to see racing action on the fast 5/8 mile oval, as the Speedway’s opening event on May 3 was washed out due to rain.

Grandstand gates will open at 3 p.m. on May 10 with time trials for both divisions set to begin at 5 p.m. followed by the season’s first heat race at 6:30 p.m.

To purchase tickets for Oswego Speedway’s 53rd annual Novelis Supermodified Kickoff call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.  General admission seating is available for only $15, with reserved seating on sale for $20, and VIP tower seating with all you can eat food and drink for $75.

Adult general admission Price Chopper Tickets to Go are available for Saturday’s event at any Price Chopper Supermarkets store for only $14.

Once again in 2014, kids 16 and under will be admitted free of charge with a paid adult with active military also admitted free with I.D.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at, follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or like on Facebook at

Oswego Speedway Opening Night Winners (A-Modifieds, Novelis Supermodifieds: 1951-2013)

1951 – Charlie Barry

1952 – Dick Jerrett Sr.

1953 – Newton Ward

1954 – Nolan Swift

1955 – Dick Jerrett Sr.

1956 – Jack Murphy

1957 – Jack Murphy

1958 – Nolan Swift

1959 – Ed Bellinger Sr.

1960 – Ed Bellinger Sr.

1961 – Billy Blum

1962 – Art Bennett

1963 – Dave Paul

1964 – Nolan Johncock

1965 – Art Bennett

1966 – Bob Smith

1967 – Gordon Dukes

1968 – Red Barnhart

1969 – Ken Andrews

1970 – Norm Mackareth

1971 – Jim Shampine

1972 – Jim Shampine

1973 – Jim Shampine

1974 – Jim Shampine

1975 – Jim Shampine

1976 – Jim Shampine

1977 – Kempton Dates

1978 – Ed Bellinger Jr.

1979 – Jim Shampine

1980 – Bentley Warren

1981 – Chuck Ciprich

1982 – Doug Heveron

1983 – Steve Gioia Jr.

1984 – Warren Coniam

1985 – Ed Bellinger Jr.

1986 – Bentley Warren

1987 – Bentley Warren

1988 – Joe Gosek

1989 – Bentley Warren

1990 – Mike Ordway

1991 – Joe Gosek

1992 – Pat Abold

1993 – Pat Abold

1994 – Bentley Warren

1995 – Doug Didero

1996 – Cliff Graves

1997 – Mike Muldoon

1998 – Randy Ritskes

1999 – Mike Muldoon

2000 – Greg Furlong

2001 – Bob Goutermout

2002 – Mike Ordway

2003 – Mike Ordway

2004 – Mike Ordway

2005 – Joe Gosek

2006 – Otto Sitterly

2007 – Joe Gosek

2008 – Otto Sitterly

2009 – Ray Graham

2010 – Otto Sitterly

2011 – Randy Ritskes

2012 – Otto Sitterly

2013 – Davey Hamilton