School District Makes Plans For Budget, Election Vote

The Oswego City School District Board of Education conducted its rescheduled business meeting on Wednesday, January 30.

Originally the board was to meet on Tuesday, January 22, but inclement weather forced the rescheduling.

The first order of business was to approve a variety of resolutions relating to the annual school district budget and board of education member election scheduled for Tuesday, May 21.

This year there will be two full terms available for candidates and one partial term. William Myer resigned from the board and his position has not been filled. Three persons will take the oath of office in July as the two highest vote getters will serve three year terms and the third person will complete the one year remaining in Myer’s term.

Under the “Instruction” area the board approved several textbooks relating to the English Language Arts Common Core. A field trip to Montreal was also approved for the Oswego Middle School French Club.

Turning to a full “Personnel” agenda the members of the board accepted every resolution.

The board accepted the retirement of Diann Fultz who served the students and staff of the school district since 1991 as a teacher aide. Her retirement will be effective on April 5.

Thomas Caswell, a social studies teacher at Oswego High School, had his leave of absence amended.  Granted leaves of absence were Science teacher Danielle Rombough and English teacher Gretchen Fronk.

Kevin Morgan was appointed as a Social Studies teacher the “Big Picture School” while Jacqueline Pfeifer was appointed as a teacher assistant.

The board also approved two school psychologists, Elizabeth Ladd and Elizabeth Tiffany, for the 2013-14 school year and approved Lyndsay Rowell as the jayvee softball head coach and Kristen Hoefer as the girls’ bowling head coach.

Joshua DeLorenzo was appointed the Social Studies Team Leader to fill a position vacated through retirement.

Resignations of David Elen as a temporary head automotive mechanic and Anthony Canale as a temporary computer aide were accepted. Support staff leaves of absences were approved for school bus driver Kristopher Rookey and teacher aide Gail Iosue.

Probationary appointments were approved for school bus driver Dawn Currier, bus driver Brian Green and Senior LAN technician Melanie Hiller. Permanent appoints were approved for part-time typist Christine Babcock and Groundsworker Joseph Scharf.  Kathy Forger was named as a temporary teacher aide replacing the retiring Diann Fultz.

The board also approved a change in the pay rate for district life guards, the posting of a varsity assistant track coach and the abolishment of the head automotive mechanic title.  Approval was also given to post the modified assistant wrestling coach position due to the large number of students participating in the program.

Under the “Finance” portion of the agenda the board approved transfer of funds to increase the Minetto Elementary School per pupil allocation to account for an increased number of students and to cover the cost of two AmeriCorps members at Frederick Leighton Elementary School.

Additional architect fees pertaining to the Oswego City School District capital project were approved. The board graciously accepted the establishment of two scholarships which included the James P. Comerford Scholarship and a Chase Manhattan Bank Scholarship.

Donations were also accepted from the Oswego High School Class of 1962, the OHS Band Parents Association and Ontario Orchards.

Approval was granted for “The Next Jenneration” to be added to the list of approved organizations using district facilities.

The board also accepted a settlement agreement with UniFirst Corporation and extended the contract between the school district and Families and School Together.

Tuesday, February 12 will be the next meeting for the board as the committee meetings will commence at 5 p.m. and any necessary business will be addressed in the regular meeting that follows committees.